1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP! My computer keeps overheating

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by NotATechieGirl, Dec 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NotATechieGirl

NotATechieGirl Thread Starter

Hi.

Firstly, I'm not a techie in any way shape or form. I can do simple tasks with instructions.

That said, I need help.

My 5 year old laptop keeps overheating. This isn't the first time. I took it to a repair place and he did a great job. I can't afford him right now and I need to clean the fan.

Problem is, I don't know how to get the laptop open.

I thought it was as simple as removing he screws and popping open the back cover. Well, I tood out the screws (there were 10 that I could clearly see) and tried to pop it open. Nothing. Won't budge.

Looked up several YouTube videos, but none of the laptops looked like mine.

I have an HP Envy laptop, and no I don't know which series it is and don't know where to find that info.

Can anyone of you help me? Help me save some money and save my computer?

Please and thanks!

2. Fireflycph

Fireflycph

First Name:
    Morten
    I can't help you with opening the HP as you don't know the model number. But you can go to the folling website and install HP's device identifier. Remember to allow the install is asked. You can always remove it after.
    After that you should be able to find a way to open it. Either on HP's site or by a Google search.

https://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/laptops

Did you try to blow air into the vent holes?

3. NotATechieGirl

Thank you...and yes, even tried to vacuum from the outside but was cautious about doing that as I don't know what it would do. I will try this other method. Thanks.

4. NotATechieGirl

that was easy

HP Envy Sleekbook 6-1140ca

5. Fireflycph