1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP!! my grandpa's computer won't boot!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tylersandiego, Apr 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tylersandiego

    tylersandiego Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, my grandpa's computer froze. I manually shut it down. Then when i went to restart it, it wont boot up again. the monitor doesnt even register on the thing anymore. i cant tell whats going on it just says no input and the monitor shuts down. the computer doesnt even boot down anymore. i hit power off and the fan keeps going? what should i do? I dont want my grandpa to find out!! its windows xp. evrything was fine an hour ago!
     
  2. jiml8

    jiml8 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    Power the computer down using the switch on the back of the box. Wait 30 seconds. Power back up using that switch to enable the power supply, then the normal startup switch on the front of the box.

    It'll start.
     
  3. tylersandiego

    tylersandiego Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    hi. Thanks for responding.

    I tried what you said and it starts but the monitor still says no signal on it so I can't see whats going on.

    Thanks.

    Tyler
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,826
    Hi Tyler - best to tell your Grandpa, [not easy I know] as he may not take too kindly to us helping you, without him knowing.
    If he also needs help, you can then come back to us and we can make some suggestions.
     
  5. tylersandiego

    tylersandiego Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    well its his computer in his barn. he has a nice laptop which i am using right now to figure this out, but i would like to fix it (he never uses the computer at the barn) but please any suggestions at all would help.

    thanks again for taking the time to look

    tyler
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918471

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice