1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help - my PC is ignoring the CD unit, i want it to see the CD unit.

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by john1, Sep 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,
    My CD unit has power, it's tray will open.
    But the PC won't read any CDs ... music or data.
    It just gives a message:

    D:\ is not accessible.
    The device is not ready.

    Its a Phillips E118405 reader/writer.

    Any help appreciated, i'm going to check the autoexec.bat
    just cos i don't have a clue ...

    Regards, John :)
     
  2. Tumbleweed36

    Tumbleweed36

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    736
    Hi,

    Has it worked before in this setup, or is this something that just happened? That should help in providing assistance.
     
  3. Browntop2004

    Browntop2004

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    176
    Hi John,
    I had a problem like this last week, when I looked in "My Computer" the CD drive was`nt there and when I went into "Device Manager" I had an exclamation mark over the second "Standard Bus Mastering IDE Hard Disk Controller" ... it turned out to be a faulty ribbon cable, I fitted a new one and have had no more problems. :cool:
     
  4. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    Yes, it worked ok for years.
    Then i tried a couple of other hard drives on it, to see if they worked,
    a couple did ... a couple didn't ... then my setup would not run ,
    i did a scandisk - it said 'free space count incorrect' would i like this
    fixed ... i said yes, now it won't see my CD unit.

    I pointed the camera straight at it, and pressed [enter]
    but it still won't see it.

    John :)
     
  5. Tumbleweed36

    Tumbleweed36

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    736
    Hi,

    Try this:

    Start
    Right Click My Computer
    Select Manage
    Try to see if it is there and you can manage it from there with several options if it is listed.
     
  6. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,
    ive just been to device manager,
    .
    .
     

    Attached Files:

  7. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi Mark,
    i am using Win98se.
     
  8. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    I'm a bit concerned about this Autoexec.bat
    does it look ok to you .. ?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Browntop2004

    Browntop2004

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    176
    Sorry John, but I`m a bit out of my depth here now. Though C:\> C:\ windows does`nt look right to me.
     
  10. Browntop2004

    Browntop2004

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    176
    maybe it should be c:\>windows\command\msdex /d:msd001/m:10
     
  11. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Well ive bought myself another CD/RW as the general opinion is that this
    one has failed. £19:99p from 'PCworld' ~ not a bad price You would think
    http://www.pcworld.co.uk/product.php?sku=676353
    I rang up to check they had them in stock ... the girl said yes, but the
    price shown on the website is for buying on-line, they may be a bit more
    buying it in the store. Turned out they didnt have the Philips models in
    stock, i bought an 'Artec' CD/RW for £24:99p which wasn't too painful.

    Now i have to fit it and see if it works.

    In the unlikely event that the other one starts working, that will cheer
    me up to have two of them !

    I haven't done this before, so if i get stuck, i will be back!

    Cheers, John :)
     
  12. Maritimesea

    Maritimesea

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    436
    I dunno but a command line in Autoexec.bat that is followed by "bad command or file name" seems...ummmm....not right. A quick google of a4init.exe shows it to be sound card related.
     
  13. KHolloman

    KHolloman

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    896
    no sweat John, done it millions of times (y)
     
  14. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    well cheers everyone for your support,
    i have fitted my new CD reader/writer and plugged it all in,
    haven't run the driver disc that came with it yet,
    but it shows up ok so far.

    And it reads the CDs i burned on the old one,
    which is a result cos they wouldn't show up on the other PC
    with an ordinary CD unit.

    If it will run from the software that is already installed
    that will cheer me up no end !

    So i'll give it a go.

    So far, so good ~ John :)
     
  15. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Story so far:

    Also i was getting "Pri Slave ........ ATAPI incompatible" or some such,
    then "Press F1 to continue" and it turned out that this was fixed by
    going over the bios settings. I set the both IDE masters and slaves to
    AUTO and that seems to have done it. This is unfamiliar ground to me.

    I am going to try out the 'Adeptec' software later, i hope it still works
    ok, cos i sort of like it. Thats the software that was installed with the
    previous burner (philips) when i bought the PC. The burner i have now
    purchased as a replacement is called 'Artec' (ive never heard of it) and
    the accompanying CD looks like Nero.

    Still stuggling on ... John :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271800

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice