Help - my PC is ignoring the CD unit, i want it to see the CD unit.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

john1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
Hi,
My CD unit has power, it's tray will open.
But the PC won't read any CDs ... music or data.
It just gives a message:

D:\ is not accessible.
The device is not ready.

Its a Phillips E118405 reader/writer.

Any help appreciated, i'm going to check the autoexec.bat
just cos i don't have a clue ...

Regards, John :)
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2004
Messages
736
Hi,

Has it worked before in this setup, or is this something that just happened? That should help in providing assistance.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2004
Messages
176
Hi John,
I had a problem like this last week, when I looked in "My Computer" the CD drive was`nt there and when I went into "Device Manager" I had an exclamation mark over the second "Standard Bus Mastering IDE Hard Disk Controller" ... it turned out to be a faulty ribbon cable, I fitted a new one and have had no more problems. :cool:
 

john1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
Hi,

Yes, it worked ok for years.
Then i tried a couple of other hard drives on it, to see if they worked,
a couple did ... a couple didn't ... then my setup would not run ,
i did a scandisk - it said 'free space count incorrect' would i like this
fixed ... i said yes, now it won't see my CD unit.

I pointed the camera straight at it, and pressed [enter]
but it still won't see it.

John :)
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2004
Messages
736
Hi,

Try this:

Start
Right Click My Computer
Select Manage
Try to see if it is there and you can manage it from there with several options if it is listed.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2004
Messages
176
Sorry John, but I`m a bit out of my depth here now. Though C:\> C:\ windows does`nt look right to me.
 

john1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
Well ive bought myself another CD/RW as the general opinion is that this
one has failed. £19:99p from 'PCworld' ~ not a bad price You would think
http://www.pcworld.co.uk/product.php?sku=676353
I rang up to check they had them in stock ... the girl said yes, but the
price shown on the website is for buying on-line, they may be a bit more
buying it in the store. Turned out they didnt have the Philips models in
stock, i bought an 'Artec' CD/RW for £24:99p which wasn't too painful.

Now i have to fit it and see if it works.

In the unlikely event that the other one starts working, that will cheer
me up to have two of them !

I haven't done this before, so if i get stuck, i will be back!

Cheers, John :)
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
436
I dunno but a command line in Autoexec.bat that is followed by "bad command or file name" seems...ummmm....not right. A quick google of a4init.exe shows it to be sound card related.
 

john1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
Hi,

well cheers everyone for your support,
i have fitted my new CD reader/writer and plugged it all in,
haven't run the driver disc that came with it yet,
but it shows up ok so far.

And it reads the CDs i burned on the old one,
which is a result cos they wouldn't show up on the other PC
with an ordinary CD unit.

If it will run from the software that is already installed
that will cheer me up no end !

So i'll give it a go.

So far, so good ~ John :)
 

john1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
Story so far:

Also i was getting "Pri Slave ........ ATAPI incompatible" or some such,
then "Press F1 to continue" and it turned out that this was fixed by
going over the bios settings. I set the both IDE masters and slaves to
AUTO and that seems to have done it. This is unfamiliar ground to me.

I am going to try out the 'Adeptec' software later, i hope it still works
ok, cos i sort of like it. Thats the software that was installed with the
previous burner (philips) when i bought the PC. The burner i have now
purchased as a replacement is called 'Artec' (ive never heard of it) and
the accompanying CD looks like Nero.

Still stuggling on ... John :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top