1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help-my PC wont run normal, it will run in SafeMode

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by john1, Jan 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    My PC (Win2000) will run in safe mode, but in normal it just gives a
    blank screen, it plays the windows startup music but its not the same.
    I don't know where to start ...

    John :)
     
  2. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Could be a bd video card or a video card that lost driver. Can you try reinstalling the driver in safe mode. It could also be a sign of dying hard drive as they often will boot into safe mode but cannot get all the way into Windows...but most likely dead video card or bad driver.
     
  3. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Thanks Rich-M,

    I will try to re install the video driver.
    Do i need to have the video driver in order to do that ?
    (my experience of 2000 is very limited)

    John :)
     
  4. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Yes you do.
     
  5. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Thanks Rich-M,

    Oh-kaay ...
    So,
    Somewhere on the Win2000 would be the name of the video driver file,
    presumably in the place where that file should be.

    Do you know where i could find the name of the file i need ?

    John :)
     
  6. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    well ive started this 2000 machine in safe mode.
    as i have said, i have no experience of 2000.

    I am going to have a look around it,
    and see if i can find the video driver file.

    Fat chance.

    John :)
     
  7. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    had a good look around.
    Haven't got a clue.

    Then i thought, maybe its called *.DRV
    cos lots of drivers are called DRV.

    So i did a search for that, got loads,
    but they don't seem big enough.

    I sort of expect a driver file to be quite big.
    Anyway i don't know which one is a video driver.

    So, a little help please ...
     
  8. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    If this is a Dell . . go here and enter your Service Tag number and navigate to the video drivers for your machine . .
     
  9. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    It runs in VGA mode, but i dont know what VGA mode means.
    No internet in that mode.

    Google here i come, on another machine.
     
  10. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi Simpswr,

    It is an Aries.

    Ive never heard of them before ...
     
  11. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi,

    I have found that IRQ 9 is shared amongst five items.
    One of these is:
    NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440

    Maybe this is the name of the Video Card.
    (i know very little about 2000)
     
  12. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
  13. john1

    john1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    8,994
    Hi Simpswr,

    thanks for that info.
    It was quite limited as a display.
    And the lack of a video driver also seemed to prevent it
    from accessing the internet.
    I am on a different PC at the moment.

    Can i assume from your answer that the name given on IRQ 9
    does refer to the video card,
    and that i could reasonably download a driver for it ?

    Thing is ....
    ... i dunno where to put it.

    John :)
     
  14. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    That is a video card . . just download the driver to your desktop ( or anywhere that you know where to get to it ) then run it to load the drivers for you . .

    The video card won't stop it from accessing the internet . . you may not have the Network Adaptor drivers loaded either. Look in Device manager
     
  15. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    You could also use whatever you are communicating with us on and download the driver to that pc and then burn a cd for the other pc to get the driver in.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537471

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice