HELP needed on internet connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kthan10

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
13
I am having a problem with my home network. The setup is: My desktop is linked to my laptop using a LAN wire connection. My desktop is directly connected to the internet, and my laptop connects to the internet via my desktop. My desktop is using win2000 and my laptop is winxp.

The problem is that i was accessing the internet thru my laptop, when suddenly the connection just stopped. i checked my connection on my laptop, and shows that my laptop is not receiving anything. I tried to re-connecting to my home network but still cannot connect to the internet.

I tried to see if my LAN wire is working, by accessing my laptopfrom my desktop, and i am able to do that. But not the other way round.

Can anyone help me with this problem?
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
38,841
I am confused on what is going on here.

What connection do you have to the internet? Dial-up, DSL or Cable?
 

kthan10

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
13
My connection is cable.

Sorrie for being confusing.I will simplify it.

My laptop gains access to the internet using a LAN cable to the desktop. My desktop is connected to the internet by cable modem. The problem now is i do not know why my laptop now cannot connect to the internet, due to settings or virus/trojan.

How can i check where the problem is? The LAN cable is working.

Thanks
 

kthan10

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
13
Btw i am using ICS (just found this term) for my desktop and laptop
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
38,841
I think your ICS configuation is gone.

For cable connection you should get a router (cheapest is around $10-20) and connect that way.

Check for trojans though, last time i did ICS, it was disabled by a trojan
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I agree with Tidus4Yuna here, this is a no-brainer. Broadband routers can be had on rebate deals for $10 and up, no reason at all to screw around with ICS!
 

kthan10

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
13
I ran the ipconfig thing on my desktop. Here's the log. Any problem with it?


Windows 2000 IP Configuration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : user-710ae08c15
Primary DNS Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link DFE-530TX PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter (rev.C)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-05-5D-94-45-4A

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.44.46

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS 900 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-E6-69-B1-DA

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 218.186.70.241

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 218.186.64.1

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.17.0.42

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 202.156.1.48
202.156.1.68
218.186.1.150
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, July 08, 2005 11:03:12 PM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, July 09, 2005 3:03:12 AM
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
38,841
Whatever is being used with the D-Link wont get any connection because it doesn;t have the correct IP. 169.254.x.x is microsofts automatic IP address. It comes up if the network card cannot get an IP address.

Save youself some time and get a 4port router. Circuit City usually has rebate stuff. www.newegg.com is another one. I got a good D-Link for $25 after rebates.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top