1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help needed with PC please

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Tabbitha, Apr 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tabbitha

    Tabbitha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
  2. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Enter the bios and verify all components like Hard drive , cdrom . floppy ets are being detected first..
     
  3. Tabbitha

    Tabbitha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Thankyou for the suggestion mobo ,but the problem I am having is that i cannot see the screen to do anything .The monitor is powered on and works fine on other tower systems but not on mine
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Does the system have intergated or expansion graphics ?
     
  5. Tabbitha

    Tabbitha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Now you have totally lost me
    Im very technphobic im afraid ,it uses ATI 3D Rage Pro Agp if that is any help
     
  6. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Try either the power supply of video card in another tower as that smoke came from somewhere..
     
  7. Tabbitha

    Tabbitha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    will do ,i will let you know what happens ,ty :)
     
  8. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Your welcome and please let me know
     
  9. Tabbitha

    Tabbitha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Ok ,here I am yet again .I have tried everything now that could possibly be wrong.I have taken out cleaned and checked for bad connections everything from my pc .Still no joy.I am not even getting the usual beeps one gets from windows usual start up .I have also tried the memory and it isnt that thats the problem either .I have so far replaced the following
    Power Pack
    Fan
    Motherboard
    graphics card

    I dont know what else to do
     
  10. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Unhook the disk drives like floppy and cdroms. If those are bad then it will not post as well.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218334

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice