1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Help Needed] WRT54G - Cannot Open Ports (Details inside)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by synix09, Nov 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. synix09

    synix09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Hello. I've tried everything I could but there is no way I can open any ports. They don't even open with DMZ enabled... Either I'm doing something wrong or my router is malfunctioning.


    I'm under Windows XP. My Windows Firewall is DISABLED (Firewall). I've set up a static IP address (Static IP). My antivirus is NOD32 2.5.

    My router is a Linksys Wireless WRT54G v2. I'm using Firmware: DD-WRT v23 SP2 (09/15/06) mini. I am connected through a Cat5 cable (not using wireless). I've configured the port opening (Port Range Forward).

    My cable modem is a Motorola SURFboard® Cable Modem SB5120 (Modem). My internet provider is Suddenlink (Speed Test Results).

    Port Scans:
    (Using www.whatsmyip.org/ports/)
    (Using www.amule.org/testport.php)
    (Using www.canyouseeme.org/)

    I've even tried restoring the router to Factory Default but with no luck. I've scanned my computer for viruses/spyware/ect already. If you need any other information, don't hesitate to ask. Any help is appreciated here. I've lived with it for almost 2 years now, all my friends have tried to solve this problem with no success. I figured it was time I asked the crowd here. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I don't know anything about the DD-WRT configuration, but there should be no issue port forwarding with the Linksys stock firmware. Perhaps you can be specific as to the ports you're trying to forward? Also, can you post screen shots of the configuration screen after you reboot the router and re-enter the web based setup?
     
  3. synix09

    synix09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    39
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The port appear to be forwarded if this is after a restart. Are you saying none of them function?
     
  5. synix09

    synix09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Even after the restart, if I use any Port Scans for any of those ports, they'll all say "Timeout". I just tried with most of those ports listed. I used Azureus' NAT/Firewall Test and it says this:

    Code:
    Testing port 50086 ... 
    NAT Error - Connect attempt to <ip address>:50086 (your computer) timed out after 20 seconds. This means your port is probably closed.
    
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    From the TSG Rules, which you should have read when you joined.

    That basically means we can't help you port forward for P2P applications.
     
  7. synix09

    synix09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Well, I didn't say I was using it for trading copyrighted material. I just used the Port Test feature.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/651266

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice