Help! new problem- photos gone!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

missmouse

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
502
hi, back again! I have now got a new problem!
I HAD quite a few photos saved in "my documents" but now they are shown as a symbol that looks like a page with the top corner folded over with a large A in the right lower corner, & when I click on this ,I get a window which says "cannot find picture Viewer.exe."
also if I try to save any e mail attachments whith contain photos, I get the same box!
have I deleted something important? & can i reinsall somehow?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Are you on a MAC or a PC? sounds like your QuickTIme viewer is gone or a file association is messed up.
 

missmouse

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
502
hi, Im on a Pc, (433Mhz,192Mb,6.5Gb) recently had some problems deleting an anti virus prog.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
As a troubleshoot, download Irfanview at www.irfanview.com When it installs, check to make it the default viewer for all image types. The default can be changed back easily. See if the images won’t open in Irfanview when you click on them.

What is the file extension of the images that are having problems?
 

missmouse

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
502
hi, file extension is : pictureviewer.exe.
Thanx, I'll try whatbyou suggested
 

missmouse

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
502
hi! downloaded irfanview & installed, pix are back ok thanx but now my saved videos dont open!
If I click & drag them to media player or real player they open ok but now they wont open automatically with point & click!...?
any ideas on that one?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
2,056
hold shift key down and right click on one of the videos
click on 'open with'
select the program (real or win media plyr etc) you want
check off the 'always open...' box

this will set the default program for these types of files, then they should open automatically on a click
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top