HELP new wireless router not working with certain device.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dikatom

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
9
Hi guys, there's probably loads of threads on here with a similar problem but I'm on my iPhone and it's hard to navigate.

My problem is that we updated (yeah, right) our old router to a new TALKTALK one. Now my phone and one laptop device is connecting fine, no problem, but my old laptop that I need to go on is not liking the new connection. It's saying that it is connected but only local access is available and it says the connection is unidentified. I seriously don't have a clue how to fix this.

Pleaseeee help a computer noob out. Thanks a lot.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
is this all wireless - can you try connecting the faulty laptop to the router with a cable connection and see if that works

also is the new router using the same type of wireless security as the old router - WPA or WPA2 ?
it maybe the old hardware does not like the newer security - a driver update for the wireless adapter may help

post an ipconfig /all from the faulty machine
------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

This should also work for windows 8
Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

dikatom

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
9
I don't have anything to connect it using a wire I'm afraid. And regarding the WPA thing, I don't know :( Man I suck at this. Everything else just connected to it without a problem, but my old laptop did.


Also, how should I post the config/all command if it's on the other computer?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
I don't have anything to connect it using a wire I'm afraid
usually talktalk router come with a LAN cable

do you still have the old router ? - it may say the type of security used on a label on the bottom of the router - also the talktalk router should have the details on a label

Also, how should I post the config/all command if it's on the other computer?
as posted

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.
 

dikatom

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
9
I'm trying to find a USB drive, might have one somewhere. Is there anything you think it might be in the mean time? Like some simple solutions I can try and do?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
assuming that has accepted the connection security and really is connected

is the adapter a AR5007 or AR5007EG and are you running vista - a change like this often results in issue and a driver update from the atheros or pc manufacturers web site often works- but again you will need something to transfer the info

goto device manager and see what type of adapter you have - see how below

ALSO
The firewall or security suite may be blocking access if you have a different private IP range, as a result of the new router - or a trial ware firewall maybe blocking

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc


some times a tcp/ip reset can help - not sure what windows version you have - so see below for XP and vista/w7

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Device Manager

how to access device manager for different windows versions
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

if the above does not work then -

Windows 7 or Vista
Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
or
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

Windows 8
If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

once you are in device manager then

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there

------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log and press enter

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

ReStart (reboot) the machine.

Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
Access is Denied

please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Details also here
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

dikatom

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
9
The network adapters are: Broadcom 440x10/100 Integrated controller + Dell wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
 

dikatom

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
9
And... I've used AVG in the past but I think I deleted it because the PC is old it was useless.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
And... I've used AVG in the past but I think I deleted it because the PC is old it was useless.
did you use the removal tool

AVG Removal Tools
http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
> removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
 

dikatom

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
9
Uhhh... I think it's still on my computer? I might of uninstalled it. You should really dumb down things for me and make it simple, I suck at this.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
You should really dumb down things for me and make it simple,
Ok
just post back anything you dont understand , its difficult on a forum to know level of knowledge and i do modify the instructions to cover as much basic info as possible - so please just ask again

i think without a way to transfer things from/to the faulty computer, or see if it works connected by a cable - theres not a lot else we can do

all the talktalk routers I have installed / replaced recently come with a yellow cable to connect between the router and the PC
 

dikatom

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
9
I've managed to get the USB and here is the results when typed in CMD.
Microsoft Windows[Version 6.0.6000]

Copyright (c) 2006Microsoft Corporation. All rightsreserved.



C:\Users\Tom>ipconfig/all



Windows IPConfiguration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FAMILY

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



Wireless LAN adapterWireless Network Connection:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : DellWireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-19-7E-D1-D1-77

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :fe80::3c0d:ccd0:2db2:3890%10(Preferred)

IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.0.10(Preferred)

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . :255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :192.168.0.1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.0.1

4.2.2.2

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled



Ethernet adapterLocal Area Connection:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle

r

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-19-B9-80-C5-6F

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



Tunnel adapter LocalArea Connection* 6:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TeredoTunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :02-00-54-55-4E-01

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



Tunnel adapter LocalArea Connection* 7:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . :isatap.{C0D63A05-98E4-48A3-9716-2273091CF

593}

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



Tunnel adapter LocalArea Connection* 9:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . :isatap.{042BE4F9-797F-46B1-B5BA-D14747A44

470}

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :fe80::5efe:192.168.0.10%12(Preferred)

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.0.1

4.2.2.2

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



C:\Users\Tom>
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,454
OK - you have
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

and I suspect it needs to be automatic
which means it reads
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : yes

can you post an ipconfig /all from a working PC - just to confirm

and then with windows 7 - you can change to auto IP as follows

Setup to Automatically get IP and DNS
WINDOWS 7
---------
Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for Windows 7
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Change-TCP-IP-settings
From a TerryNet post
To configure a dynamic IP address on your Windows Vista or 7 computer:

1. Click Start.
2. Select Network, then Network and Sharing Center, and click Manage network connections or Change adapter settings from the list of tasks.
3. Right click the connection of interest and click Properties.
4. Select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) from the list and click the Properties button.
5. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
6. Select Obtain DNS Server address automatically.
7. Click OK.
8. Click Close.
 

dikatom

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
9
Okay this is from a working PC.


Microsoft Windows[Version 6.1.7601]

Copyright (c) 2009Microsoft Corporation. All rightsreserved.



C:\Users\kathy>ipconfig/all



Windows IPConfiguration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kathy-HP

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



Wireless LAN adapterWireless Network Connection:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : RealtekRTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapte

r

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :AC-81-12-C4-3A-64

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :fe80::80b6:9b33:11b1:e3af%13(Preferred)

IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.1.3(Preferred)

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . :255.255.255.0

Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03January 2013 13:17:50

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04January 2013 13:17:51

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :192.168.1.1

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.1.1

DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . :330072338

DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . :00-01-00-01-16-7E-10-3F-EC-9A-74-56-E0-13



DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.1.1

0.0.0.0

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled



Ethernet adapterLocal Area Connection:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : E1-Line.com

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : RealtekPCIe FE Family Controller

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :EC-9A-74-56-E0-13

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



Tunnel adapterisatap.{35CB3F77-EB88-4A1C-93A2-A994C19B2A92}:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . :Microsoft ISATAP Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



Tunnel adapter LocalArea Connection* 11:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . :Microsoft 6to4 Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



Tunnel adapter TeredoTunneling Pseudo-Interface:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TeredoTunneling Pseudo-Interface

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :2001:0:5ef5:73b8:3c9c:120b:fd9d:3a09(Pref

erred)

Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :fe80::3c9c:120b:fd9d:3a09%14(Preferred)

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



C:\Users\kathy>
 

dikatom

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
9
You've fixed it!! For now anyway? I'm pretty sure it's fixed man. I owe you one. Thanks a lot.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top