1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP new wireless router not working with certain device.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dikatom, Jan 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dikatom

    dikatom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Hi guys, there's probably loads of threads on here with a similar problem but I'm on my iPhone and it's hard to navigate.

    My problem is that we updated (yeah, right) our old router to a new TALKTALK one. Now my phone and one laptop device is connecting fine, no problem, but my old laptop that I need to go on is not liking the new connection. It's saying that it is connected but only local access is available and it says the connection is unidentified. I seriously don't have a clue how to fix this.

    Pleaseeee help a computer noob out. Thanks a lot.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is this all wireless - can you try connecting the faulty laptop to the router with a cable connection and see if that works

    also is the new router using the same type of wireless security as the old router - WPA or WPA2 ?
    it maybe the old hardware does not like the newer security - a driver update for the wireless adapter may help

    post an ipconfig /all from the faulty machine
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. dikatom

    dikatom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    I don't have anything to connect it using a wire I'm afraid. And regarding the WPA thing, I don't know :( Man I suck at this. Everything else just connected to it without a problem, but my old laptop did.


    Also, how should I post the config/all command if it's on the other computer?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    usually talktalk router come with a LAN cable

    do you still have the old router ? - it may say the type of security used on a label on the bottom of the router - also the talktalk router should have the details on a label

    as posted

     
  5. dikatom

    dikatom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    I'm trying to find a USB drive, might have one somewhere. Is there anything you think it might be in the mean time? Like some simple solutions I can try and do?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    assuming that has accepted the connection security and really is connected

    is the adapter a AR5007 or AR5007EG and are you running vista - a change like this often results in issue and a driver update from the atheros or pc manufacturers web site often works- but again you will need something to transfer the info

    goto device manager and see what type of adapter you have - see how below

    ALSO
    The firewall or security suite may be blocking access if you have a different private IP range, as a result of the new router - or a trial ware firewall maybe blocking

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc


    some times a tcp/ip reset can help - not sure what windows version you have - so see below for XP and vista/w7

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen, menu on the left hand side

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if the above does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb > In the Start Search box type > device manager and then press enter
    or
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    Windows 8
    If you happen to be using a keyboard with Windows 8, the quickest way to open Device Manager is via its shortcut on the Power User Menu, accessible by pressing the WINDOW and the X keys together.
    If on a touch screen - have a read here http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/device-manager-windows-8.htm

    once you are in device manager then

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. dikatom

    dikatom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    The network adapters are: Broadcom 440x10/100 Integrated controller + Dell wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
     
  8. dikatom

    dikatom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    And... I've used AVG in the past but I think I deleted it because the PC is old it was useless.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did you use the removal tool

    AVG Removal Tools
    http://www.avg.com/gb-en/utilities
    http://www.avg.com/ww-en/utilities

    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2013 http://www.avg.com/tools#tba2 - > on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2012 http://www.avg.com/tools2012.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 2011 http://www.avg.com/tools2011.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 9.0 http://www.avg.com/tools9.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
    > removal tool, that can be used with AVG 8.5 http://www.avg.com/tools8.tpl-mcr1#tba2 -> on Installation Tab > use the AvgRemover
     
  10. dikatom

    dikatom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Uhhh... I think it's still on my computer? I might of uninstalled it. You should really dumb down things for me and make it simple, I suck at this.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Ok
    just post back anything you dont understand , its difficult on a forum to know level of knowledge and i do modify the instructions to cover as much basic info as possible - so please just ask again

    i think without a way to transfer things from/to the faulty computer, or see if it works connected by a cable - theres not a lot else we can do

    all the talktalk routers I have installed / replaced recently come with a yellow cable to connect between the router and the PC
     
  12. dikatom

    dikatom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    I've managed to get the USB and here is the results when typed in CMD.
    Microsoft Windows[Version 6.0.6000]

    Copyright (c) 2006Microsoft Corporation. All rightsreserved.



    C:\Users\Tom>ipconfig/all



    Windows IPConfiguration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : FAMILY

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Wireless LAN adapterWireless Network Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : DellWireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-19-7E-D1-D1-77

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :fe80::3c0d:ccd0:2db2:3890%10(Preferred)

    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.0.10(Preferred)

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . :255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :192.168.0.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.0.1

    4.2.2.2

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled



    Ethernet adapterLocal Area Connection:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle

    r

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-19-B9-80-C5-6F

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    Tunnel adapter LocalArea Connection* 6:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TeredoTunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :02-00-54-55-4E-01

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    Tunnel adapter LocalArea Connection* 7:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . :isatap.{C0D63A05-98E4-48A3-9716-2273091CF

    593}

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    Tunnel adapter LocalArea Connection* 9:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . :isatap.{042BE4F9-797F-46B1-B5BA-D14747A44

    470}

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :fe80::5efe:192.168.0.10%12(Preferred)

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.0.1

    4.2.2.2

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



    C:\Users\Tom>
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK - you have
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    and I suspect it needs to be automatic
    which means it reads
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : yes

    can you post an ipconfig /all from a working PC - just to confirm

    and then with windows 7 - you can change to auto IP as follows

    Setup to Automatically get IP and DNS
    WINDOWS 7
    ---------
    Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for Windows 7
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Change-TCP-IP-settings
     
  14. dikatom

    dikatom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Okay this is from a working PC.


    Microsoft Windows[Version 6.1.7601]

    Copyright (c) 2009Microsoft Corporation. All rightsreserved.



    C:\Users\kathy>ipconfig/all



    Windows IPConfiguration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : kathy-HP

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Wireless LAN adapterWireless Network Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : RealtekRTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapte

    r

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :AC-81-12-C4-3A-64

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :fe80::80b6:9b33:11b1:e3af%13(Preferred)

    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.1.3(Preferred)

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . :255.255.255.0

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03January 2013 13:17:50

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04January 2013 13:17:51

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :192.168.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.1.1

    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . :330072338

    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . :00-01-00-01-16-7E-10-3F-EC-9A-74-56-E0-13



    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.1.1

    0.0.0.0

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled



    Ethernet adapterLocal Area Connection:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : E1-Line.com

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : RealtekPCIe FE Family Controller

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :EC-9A-74-56-E0-13

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    Tunnel adapterisatap.{35CB3F77-EB88-4A1C-93A2-A994C19B2A92}:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . :Microsoft ISATAP Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    Tunnel adapter LocalArea Connection* 11:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Mediadisconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . :Microsoft 6to4 Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



    Tunnel adapter TeredoTunneling Pseudo-Interface:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TeredoTunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0

    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :2001:0:5ef5:73b8:3c9c:120b:fd9d:3a09(Pref

    erred)

    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :fe80::3c9c:120b:fd9d:3a09%14(Preferred)

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



    C:\Users\kathy>
     
  15. dikatom

    dikatom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    You've fixed it!! For now anyway? I'm pretty sure it's fixed man. I owe you one. Thanks a lot.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083522

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice