Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

HELP! No Audio Output Device Red X Over Sound Icon

2K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  Triple6 
#1 ·
Hello All,

This is my first time to this forum, so I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this or not.

I have a one year old HP Pavilion dv2000 laptop that came with Vista. We installed Windows 7 about 6 months ago or longer and I haven't had this problem until now, so I don't think it had to do with putting W7 on it.

Out of the blue when I turned my computer on the other day the sound icon on the taskbar had a red X on it. My first thought was that the sound was muted, but I checked that and then noticed when you hover over the sound icon that it says "No Audio Output Device is installed." And when you click on "playback devices" it doesn't show any sound devices.

Well, I searched all over the internet for a solution and installed drivers, used system restore and reinstalled windows even! But to no avail. I heard some other people with this same problem would get there sound back on and off, all of the sudden, and that's what happened with my computer. The day before yesterday the sound was back when I turned my computer on. And then yesterday it was off again.

So, now I have run out of ideas to try. If anyone knows of something that might work to fix this problem please let me know.

It's been like this for about 3 or 4 days now, on and off mysteriously.

Thanks for any help I get.
~Grace

See less See more
#2 ·
Are you aware of the severe problems with that model of laptop: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01087277&cc=us&lc=en&dlc=en
There's many more symptoms and models affected then just listed there but HP is refusing to do the right thing and issue a proper recall for all affected models.

Make sure you have the latest BIOS installed for that unit, its absolutely critical.