1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help! No network connections detected.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ejotoole, Jan 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ejotoole

    ejotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 900 @ 2.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1915 Mb
    Graphics Card: Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family, 829 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 227812 MB, Free - 193637 MB;
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA, Portable PC, Base Board Version, Base Board Serial Number
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

    I am hoping someone can help me. I purchased two Toshiba laptops this August and one is suddenly no able to connect to the internet. I think it may have something to do with this error message that keeps coming up on one laptop-
    C:Users\TOSHIB~1\AppData\Local\Temp\ctfmated.dll

    I checked the device manager and there are no exclamation points or anything in yellow as I saw posted in other threads.

    Hope someone can help me!
    Thank you in advance
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,225
    First Name:
    Terry
    For an attempted connection please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. ejotoole

    ejotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    This is what came up in a black window.

    Microsoft Windows (Version 6.1.7600)
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Toshiba Laptop 2
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,225
    First Name:
    Terry
    No ">" at the end of the prompt? No echo of "ipconfig /all" when you typed it? You have bigger problems than just networking. :(

    Try SFC /SCANNOW
     
  5. ejotoole

    ejotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry to ask a probably obvious question but did you mean literally the symbol "<"?
    I typed in the command as you said and that is what came up.
    The computer seems to function just fine other than the internet.

    Honestly, I am a little scared by your comment! :)

    Advice?

    Thank you!
     
  6. ejotoole

    ejotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    oops put the symbol the wrong way.
    Also, what do you mean by echo?
     
  7. ejotoole

    ejotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    I did use the SFC/SCANNOW and it said, "Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations."
     
  8. ejotoole

    ejotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    I feel fairly dumb now. I did this wrong. I did it again and got what I believe you were asking me to do the first time! Sorry!

    Windows IP Configuration
    Host name- Toshiba Laptop2
    Primary Dns Suffix-
    Node Type- Hybrid
    Ip Routing Enabled- No
    WINS Proxy Enabled- No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State- Media Disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS suffix-
    Description- Atheros AR8152 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
    Physical Address- 00-26-6c-56-DB-83
    DHCP ENABLED- Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled- Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State- Media Disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS suffix-
    Description- Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adaptor
    Physical Address- 00-16-44-66-39-83
    DHCP ENABLED- Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled- Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap. (8F4406B0-AAA1-48A5-077B65993711):
    Media State- Media Disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS suffix-
    Description- Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address- 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ENABLED- No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled- Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State- Media Disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS suffix-
    Description- Microsoft 6to4 adapter
    Physical Address- 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled- No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled- Yes

    Tunnel Adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State- Media Disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS suffix-
    Description-Toredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address- 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled- No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled- Yes

    Tunnel Adapter isatap. (681AA3AE-750B-43CB-AE5D-0D1D0C3D93BA):
    Media State- Media Disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS suffix-
    Description- Microsoft ISATAP adapter #3
    Physical Address- 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled- No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled- Yes

    Phew! Had to type that all in so hope it helps!

    Thanks!
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,225
    First Name:
    Terry
    The ethernet Media Disconnected could be a defective cable or defective NIC. Does the LED light when you plug in the cable?

    Are you trying to connect by wireless? If so exactly what happens when you try to connect? And please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
     
  10. ejotoole

    ejotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    I am going to have to try this again when I get back home. We have always used this wirelessly and suddenly this is happening and I'm not clear why.

    I just don't have a way to download the program and I am not even sure if I can connect with a plug.

    I'll have to get back to this tomorrow.
    Thank you for all your help thus far!
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,225
    First Name:
    Terry
    You have internet access when you post here. USB flash drives are pretty inexpensive and very useful.
     
  12. ejotoole

    ejotoole Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    I am on the second laptop that is functioning! I should clarify that I own many thumb drives just don't have one with me at the moment. I am at a rental unit of ours doing a remodel and left home without the one I usually carry with me. Will get back to this tonight I suppose.

    Thank you!
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976684

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice