1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help on 64 bit os question

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by TheNumber32, Apr 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheNumber32

    TheNumber32 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Hi, i need to know what is the differences between 32 and 64 bit operating systems in terms of performance and if my computer can support a 64 bit system. im new to this so spare me

    my comp is as follows;
    120 gb hard drive
    cossair 4gb ram
    processor is amd turian 64 x2 (dual core) tl-66 with mobile technology 2.3ghz
    7600 go nvidia graphics card
     
  2. TheNumber32

    TheNumber32 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    anyone?
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  4. ryzeoa

    ryzeoa

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hey TheNumber32, I'm just adding some of my mediocre knowledge for you. As Elvandil had stated you do have a 64-bit processor, so if you were to get a 64-bit operating system your system would be able to run in 64-bit. I also noticed that you have a 7600 go nvidia graphics card so I would assume this is a laptop we're talking about? All of that aside if you wanted to you probably can run 64-bit, but my honest opinion would be that 64-bit is not really needed as 32-bit is still the more stable and used type.

    At the same time I could be wrong, but I felt like somewhat hopefully helping you out a bit by using my first post on this site. I look forward to increasing my computer knowledge with this forum and hopefully giving and at the same time receiving help.


    - ryzeoa
     
  5. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,070
  6. TheNumber32

    TheNumber32 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    im currently running vista, but what about xp x64?
     
  7. t1n0m3n

    t1n0m3n

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    I would not recommend XP64 over Vista64. Manufacturer support for XP64 has never been great, and now that it is an outgoing OS, it can only get worse. XP64 is about 4% faster overall than Vista64, (on my current system, see specs in link in sig) but the possible app and driver issues turns me off of it.

    And yes, I ran XP64 for a couple of years before I upgraded to Vista64.
    Also, real world performance, you will probably not see any difference in speed between Vista and Vista64.
    You will be able to use all 4GB of that ram though.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/701794

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice