1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

help on Linux

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by blando89, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blando89

blando89 Thread Starter

Hi i am new at Linux beeen messing around with it and its really cool..but i see that u can get like all the windows to form a cube and move it around how do u get that and how do u activate that so i can use teh 3D cube.. Thank you

2. Specsnow

Specsnow

Hi there,

There is a program called Beryl that will allow you to do this with your desktop, however, many people have trouble getting it working by themselves. I have gotten it working on several PCs, on different distributions, but the directions vary greatly between distros. Which distro of Linux do you have. I can provide some instruction to help you.

3. blando89

blando89 Thread Starter

well i am goin to ITT for school for computer networking and we have to take a class for it linux and were using fedora it has like gnome on it and stuff so..which im starting to like it so im thinking about putting another partition on my hard drive to use windows and linux

4. Specsnow

Specsnow

Okay, I have worked with FC (Fedora Core) before. Here is how I'd do it:

1. Insert FC install CD
    2. Reboot PC
    3. Type 'linux rescue' when prompted
    4. Accept standard options [Eg English]
    5. Select your Linux partition used during the original FC installation when Grub was originally installed (Eg SDA2)
    6. when prompted, select allow write access [ie, NOT read only]
    7. type 'chroot /mnt/sysimage' [as suggested by linux rescue]
    8. type 'grub-install /dev/sda' [assuming you wish to use the Primary boot sector of sda - you will wish to use this if you installed it here during the original FC installation]