Solved Help PC not switching in!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nutech12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Messages
452
My PC which is prob about 8 years old.

It wont switch on :(
I've tried replacing the power cord; plugging into the wall instead if the power bar; unseated and re-seated all the connects to the mainboard.

Could it be the power supply, or perhaps even the power on switch? A few days ago it was working just fine, then the following day it wouldn't switch on! A day later it did switch on but about 5 hours later it randomly shut off!

ASUS M3N78-VM; CPU AMD 7750 Black Edition @ 1350MHz; System Memory 4096MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM; BIOS Type AMI 0907, Date 01/13/2009; Address 1024kb; Bios AGESA: 3.3.1.0; Video Adapter PCI NVIDIA GeForce 8200 (Textured Mem: 1839 MB); Device Audio: ASUSTeK Computer MCP72XE
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,713
A day later it did switch on but about 5 hours later it randomly shut off!
This may be indicative of a failing (or failed) PSU. Since you've been in the PC casing, can you see any lights on the motherboard when you turn it on?
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,713
On this motherboard, the standby power LED denotes if there's power being received. Since that's not on, and you've checked all the cabling to ensure it's connected securely, I'm guessing the PSU has failed.
 

Nutech12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Messages
452
I did try the paperclip test courtesy youtube vids. That didn't show anything. No fan on the PSU started.
 

Nutech12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Messages
452
How about the Battery? I read a couple ppl took their old battery out and with the new one in, they have no problems!
 

managed

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
13,700
First Name
Allan
You can try a new Cmos battery but it seems like the Power Supply Unit (PSU) is the problem, again what PSU is it ?
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
2,638
Here is another vid
You did turn the power switch back on to test? Are you sure your cord is good and your outlet has power? Make sure your voltage switch is set for what you have 110V or 220V. I had one that the voltage switch got dirty and had to move it back and forth to get it to work. (not while it's on)
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
40,843
First some observations;
1 Testing a pw supply with a paperclip is useless. It does nothing to test the unit under a load. A MUCH better test is to swap in a known good pw supply. Note known good does NOT mean new; it means a pw supply pulled from a working system that you know works. A pw supply can be DOA just like any other part and that will really mess up your troubleshooting
2 A cmos batter will not stop the system from pw ON. There will be errors ie time/date, no boot device, etc, etc however it will pw ON
3 Your motherboard is now 10yr old and [IMO] it is not worth putting any money into 10yr old tech. Up to you if you want to attempt to fix this system. The very first thing to do is swap in a known good pw supply for testing.
 

Nutech12

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2003
Messages
452
Time to find an inexpensive PC build.

Any ideas?

Pls note I'm in Canada
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top