1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help Please!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by FixMyInternet, Nov 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FixMyInternet

    FixMyInternet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hi guys, sorry to intrude, but I had the exact same problem as KCDP76AT. I uninstalled AT&T Communication Manager and my internet does not work. It says Identifying......for a while then it says "Limited or No Activity" then it does not connect. I've tried "automatically repair IP settings"; basically every option they've given me. I have Windows Vista, so I tried the solutions that TerryNet submitted with high hopes it'd work for me, but it didn't. If you could please please pleas HELP ME I'd GREATLY appreciate it! Thank you!!
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,913
    First Name:
    Terry
    I've started your own thread for you here. By tacking your post onto a three week old solved thread you weren't intruding; you were wasting your time. If you had the exact same problem then the exact same fix (stack/WINSOCK repairs) would have worked.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.


    If you are trying to connect by Wi-Fi please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector.
     
  3. FixMyInternet

    FixMyInternet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I was not able to take a screen shot of a Networks page on the computer with the internet problem because I could not download the program you requested. I can take a screen shot of the computer I am currently using because I am usng the same wi-fi I will use once my internet is repaired on the other computer, if that helps?

    Anyways, here's the info you asked for:


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    C:\Users\Chavez>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Chavez-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-25-6E-C9-37
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{4ACF3DEC-1CFE-42F2-878C-F923C5C01
    865}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Chavez>


    Thanks again for the help!
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,421
    First Name:
    Wayne
    theres no wireless adapter shown on that info - are you sure the pc has a wireless adapter ?

    can you copy the xirrus program across to the faulty laptop - using a usb flash stick, or external usb harddrive or CD / DVD ?

    can we see a device manager screen shot



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    windows key and pause Key should open to allow device manager to be seen on laptops may need to use windows key + FN key + Pause Key
    if not then

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028279

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice