Help, Please

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

EricM

Ran Scandisk on my emachines Me system. Lost my D and E drives. Used "Drive Rescue" to retrieve as much info as I could. Got my drives back but lost enough other info that my system restore disk won't. Is it possible to do the MS-Dos restore or is my system to messed up and I need a new one? I'm pretty new at this but I learn quickly if someone is kind enough to help.
Or if it's possible I'd rather install 98se over me from an 98se upgrade disk I saved from my last computer,if that's possible? Thanx, I really appreciate it
Eric

You can run the Windows Registry Checker tool (Scanreg.exe).
# Restart the computer with the Emergency Boot Diskette (EBD) in the floppy disk drive, and then choose the Minimal boot option.
# At the C: prompt,type scanreg /restore,( note space between g /) and then press ENTER.

hl5

Eric,

That's a tricky one. If you "lost" your D and E drives, that could mean a lot of things. It could mean the drives just aren't visible, and it could mean the data is destroyed. I'd be careful about running (more) data recovery programs until it's clear what happened. Your Windows is usually on drive C, but you didn't mention that drive. I assume that drive is messed up as well?

Scandisk is usually a very reliable program, so if it trashed your disks there is probably something very wrong with your disks. I might try a program like Steve Gibson's SpinRite in a situation like this if you need any of that data. It's about $90 though.

There are some other alternatives like Ontrack and some cheap ones if you're willing to gamble. (If you can't boot Windows, you can go with a DOS utility; SpinRite is DOS as well.)

http://www.hotlib.com/products1.php?id=19658
http://www.rssoftlab.com/
http://www.floborecovery.com/
http://www.unistal.com/disk_repair.html