1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help Resetting Local Area Connection Number

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Blood Elemental, Nov 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Blood Elemental

    Blood Elemental Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Hi there. I am in the Network Connection properties dialog box in Windows XP and I see my lan connection listed as "Local Area Connection 2". Since I have only 1 connection listed here shouldn't it be listed as "Local Area Connection 1" instead of 2? (I already tried uninstalling and reinstalling the network card but Windows still names the connection "Local Area Connection 2").
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Right click on it and click Rename. Call it whatever you want.
     
  3. Blood Elemental

    Blood Elemental Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for the quick response DoublHelix. I knew it had to be something simple like that. But just wondering...if I ever install an additional network card on my computer, will it show up automatically as the next higher number i.e..("Local Area Connection 2") or will it skip to "Local Area Connection 3" and require me to manually rename it back to "2"?
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    I believe the regisitry keys for the connections are located here.
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Network\GUID\Connection

    GUID is the Globally Unique IDentifier of the connection.
     
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    What does it matter? This is a pretty minor, if insignificant, problem. If you don't like what your network connections are called, rename them. Regardless, they'll work. I don't even look at what they're called. If things work, that's great.
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    I agree DoubleHelix, but should he make another network connection, it will look to the Registry and name it to the next available number. You can clear out those connections that are unused by clearing them in the registry.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/517218