Help !! Restoring Lost Data !!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gkimble

Thread Starter
Account Disabled
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
307
I have tried every means possible to repair the data on this laptop. Windows 2000 CD didn't repair, Norton Ghost wouldn't make an image. It started out as a missing .dll but has turned into a serious problem and I don't want to reinstall windows without having the data backed up first. How could I do this in DOS ?
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
143
gkimble:

are you trying to ghost to another HD or the same drive?

From my experience, I found that it is easier to ghost a hard drive image to another hard drive. If you have access to another drive set it up as a slave (or whatever works) to the master drive.

If you want to do this in DOS, I would create a norton boot disk and norton boot disk CD using norton ghost. Then use the boot disk to boot the computer to DOS Prompt, insert the CD into the cd-rom. Try creating the image that way then reinstall windows to your orginal drive. This way you can pick what data you want to save off of the image in windows.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
143
oops!

I just noticed you said it was a laptop.

try using the boot disk as i said above and ghost to the same drive and see what happens.

norton has an option somewhere (can think of it at the moment) to create a boot disk.
 

gkimble

Thread Starter
Account Disabled
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
307
Well, here's what I did: 1. make a ghost boot disk with the NIC drivers. 2. send the image to a server 3. reinstall windows on the laptop with a partition 4. push the old image to the partition 5. dig out the important files from the partition 6. go back and delete the pushed image and the partition so you are left with a clean install of windows and the few files you had to recover !
 

gkimble

Thread Starter
Account Disabled
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
307
Ooops ! I spoke too soon. Seems that there is a bad sector in the hard drive while tyring to send the image to the server. I guess I could always open the laptop, and plug the baby hardrive into the tower and copy the data........
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,424
FWIW, I find that whenever a hard disk is going south, the worst possible thing you can do is try writing more stuff to it. It's time RIGHT NOW to put the disk into a system and as quickly as possible read all the data you need from it.
 

gkimble

Thread Starter
Account Disabled
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
307
It's all up to the employee. If they want me to reinstall I'll be more than glad !
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top