1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help Setting Up My New(first) Laptop (please!)

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Ishnaya, Apr 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ishnaya

Ishnaya Thread Starter

Alright so i'm going to be receiving my new computer in a few days and need tips on what i should start with once i receive it!...

I was thinking of maybe looking up how to partition my hard drive (do i have to format the computer to be able to accomplish this?)... My computer has come with a Trend Micro 3yr subscription (will formatting my computer wipe it off my computer (sry if doesn't make sense i'm new at this))...

What kind of software should i be getting that will help me with keeping my computer up to date (in security, performance, cleanliness??)

So pretty much what are the steps i should take after the moment i unwrap my computer (on my first boot... woohoo i can't wait to get it)

Thx,
    Ishnaya

2. 1002richards

1002richards Retired Trusted Advisor

Hi,
    Before you get carried away - as we all do!!
    Very early on - Make the restoration discs or reinstallation discs that'll be recommended by the vendor to rescue you if things go wrong.
    Another well regarded back-up / restore option is Acronis True Image
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/

This site provides independent reviews of free progs for a range of functions. The progs are freeware and free of ads/spam:
    http://www.techsupportalert.com/best_46_free_utilities.htm

I hope this is of help?
    Richard.

3. Hughv

Hughv

4. redoak

redoak Gone but never forgotten

One regularly recommended arrangement is for two partitions: "C" has the operating system plus all programs; the second has all the data files.