1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help!!! taskbar won't show open windows

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by dawhits1, Feb 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dawhits1

    dawhits1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Hi,
    I have had this computer for a year or so and about a month ago, the little boxes on the blue taskbar at the bottom of the screen stopped showing up. I can still open the windows with the ctrl alt delete command to open the task manager, but theres no way to switch between two open windows without that. Anyone no what's wrong?
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Hi, dawhits1 :)

    Welcome to TSG.

    Try this:

    Right Click on the Start button->select Properties->then Taskbar tab-> check Show Quick Launch.
     
  3. dawhits1

    dawhits1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    it isn't the quick launch buttons though, it's the actual programs open, so for example, if i had firefox, word and aim open, none of those show up at all down on the bar at the bottom of the screen. thank you for the quick reply
     
  4. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
  5. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    It sounds like you drug the bar to the bottom

    Hover the cursor at the bottom and when it turns to a double headed arrow hold down the left mouse button and drag it up
     
  6. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Hi, Mike :)

    Nice to see you around!
     
  7. dawhits1

    dawhits1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks JSntgRvr,
    I tried this and it seems to be back to normal.

    Thank you all for your quick responses, usually when I post something on a forum it takes days sometimes to get a response.
    -Erik
     
  8. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Buena Noche
     
  9. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Hi, dawhits1 :)

    You are Welcome! (y)

    Please use the thread's Tools and mark this thread as "Solved".

    Best wishes! [​IMG]
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Help taskbar won't
  1. mag777
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    599
  2. aamberdawn35
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    277
  3. Robertico22
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    441
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/541245

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice