1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help, TCP Null Scans

Discussion in 'General Security' started by workdog, Apr 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. workdog

    workdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Well I am not sure if I need to be concerned or not. I am getting an aweful lot of TCP Null Scans being logged by my Firewall. From what I have found by searching, it would appear that this is a type of Hack and someone is trying to gain access to our servers. So far it looks like our firewall is blocking these.
    Is there a way I can make these stop?
    Can I report this to anyone?
    Is this a bigger concern than I am thinking it is?
    Need some guidance please.
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,791
  3. workdog

    workdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Okay, after I run the port scan, what do I do. It shows ports closed but unsecure. These ports appear to be ones related to programs that would need them the way they are. I am wondering what to do to "stop" or "cancel" the TCP Null Scan requests being sent, or if possible to tell if they got into my network. What are my next steps? :confused:
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,791
    Hi if the firewall test is showing no open ports then the TCP Null Scans are not being allowed to send or receive any data.

    "Is there a way I can make these stop?
    Can I report this to anyone?"
    No to both..your Firewall is doing it's job.
    You can spend a lot of time checking what your Firewall is doing but it can make you paranoid [trust me I know]
     
  5. workdog

    workdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    So it sounds like my firewall is doing what it is supposed to do?
    Thank you very much for your help.:)
     
  6. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,791
    (y)
    You no doubt have up to date Anti-virus and Spyware programs installed?
    I had to ask. ;)
     
  7. workdog

    workdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Yes we do. I try to moniter it daily if not weekly to make sure the DAT files are updating accordingly.
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,791
    You could add an online scan once a week just to double check.
    Trendmicro
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/701309

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice