Help to decipher jumpers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mobo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
I have an old pent. 1 pc with this board which holds both edo as well as sd ram. Along side the dim sockets is a jumper for the dims. One setting is for 3.5 and the other for 5. It is set to 3.5 but what exactly is the purpose of this is what I would like explained.
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Voltages for memory I would think.....DIMMS usually 3v or 3.3v SIMMS 5v....

but, lets make sure....the link you posted brings up "area under construction on my pc....can you post the exact model of board, and if there is a revision number, that too?
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, You should find what you need here:

http://www.megasat.ch/totalhardware/m/A-B/33999.htm

I dont see any jumpers that have to do with memory, though.
You are looking at the system voltage for CPU
Your board has jumpers for CPU voltages, speed, etc. You will have to check the jumper positions against the CPU you have. Are you sure you know the correct speed CPU you have in there? Often, BIOS can default to a low setting or be under or overclocked. The user manual has a good diagrammed explanation of jumpers. Use your Google images link to see it.
 

mobo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Thanks, your first post made a lot of sense of it i think..
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
No, I dont think so, read the edited post I made!!!! It seemed pretty logical, but I dont think you need to change a jumper to use either type of memory chips.....but, you need to use only one type DIMM or use SIMMs..... the voltage jumper is for the CPU I believe, do NOT change it unless you review what you have!!!!
 

mobo

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
No these jumpers actually say dimms on the board. The other jumpers for cpu fsb and multiplier are on the other end of the board by the cpu. the jumper in question is # 18 up by the dimms.
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, I cannot get to a large enough pic to see any numbers on pic...
The manual I am looking at does not show a board that uses both SIMM and DIMM memory....on it, J18 is for a com port...
you must have the MMX capable board and I am looking at a pre-MMX pic....will keep trying.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top