Help to Quit Smoking

bordercollie

Hello everyone - I know that there will be some of you out there (including myself) who have included stopping smoking in their New Year Resolution list. I have smoked for many years and have attempted to quit several times, but always fail because of lack of support. I thought it might be a good idea if the people trying to quit, and also the non-smokers, could help and support each other. What do you think ?

That sounds like a great idea! :)

Although I have no personal experience with this, (and don't plan on gaining any), I wish all of you who are trying to kick the habit the best of luck in quitting. :)

Rukee

Banned
I smoked for many many years and quit about 12 years ago.
The best way to do it is cold turkey. Tobacco is an addiction which effects your brain. You have to tell yourself YOU are stronger then those dang drugs they spike those siggies with and you are taking back control of your life! Vow that the pack you have now will be the last pack you will ever smoke and that you are going to be smoke free whether you like it or not. Tell all your friends you are stopping and to expect you to be a ***** for a couple days, but if they are your friends, they`ll understand and help you though. DON`T CHEAT!!
Just stop and be smoke free from that point on. You can do it!! It`s only three days that the physical addition has a hold on you, so if you can just make it three days, the rest is in your head.
Now, seeing someone with a smoke in their hand is about the most unattractive thing I think I`ve even seen!! :yuck:
[Tony Little voice] You can do it!!

Smoking is a crutch for me. Whenever anything happens one of the first things that enters my mind is cigarette. If I have to wait to have that smoke until something is dealt with the urge is just stronger when I finally have my hands free again.