1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

help to uninstall windows xp home edition service pack 3

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by blobby62, Apr 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blobby62

blobby62 Thread Starter

i am having problems with windows xp i cant watch any video message it starts then stops i also cant get any updates from microsoft i have tried installing windows xp again but it just stays on blank page with cursor in top corner i want to uninstall all of my windows xp then reinstall it i cant uninstall because cant find windows xp in control panel i am very new to this so i know i am doing something wrong please help

2. Jack Hackett

Jack Hackett

press the ANY key

3. Saga Lout

Saga Lout

You can't uninstall XP while you're using it - you need to find the CD you (hopefully) got when you bought the computer and use that to uninstall it. Happily, though, your problem doesn't warrant that and can probably be fixed quite easily. All you need to do is post some more details about the problem and the system. Go into Control Panel>System and post back the details pf the processor and the memory.

4. oksteve

oksteve

If you want to re install Win XP you will need the original cd that came with the operating system.
    If xp came ready installed you need to contact the vendor.

oops double post

5. blobby62

blobby62 Thread Starter

i have got original cd that is what i am using to try and install it but nothing is happening only blank page i am using kids old laptop to get in touch with you because i have stopped installation been running now for 3 hours i cant get on internet now using my com so i am using this how long does instalation take icant uninstall windows xp on my com so i am trying to install over the one thats in