1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP, upgrading processor help....

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mackey, Jan 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mackey

    mackey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Here's is my girlfriend CPU vitals....

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    Version 5.1.2600 Build 2600
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Name JODI-EJKIXQBNAS
    System Manufacturer Micro-Star Inc.
    System Model MS-6183
    System Type X86-based PC
    Processor x86 Family 6 Model 7 Stepping 3 GenuineIntel ~501 Mhz
    BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. 62710, 5/20/1999
    SMBIOS Version 2.3
    Windows Directory C:\windows
    System Directory C:\windows\System32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale United States
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.0 (xpclient.010817-1148)"
    User Name JODI-EJKIXQBNAS\Jodi
    Time Zone Pacific Standard Time
    Total Physical Memory 128.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 11.78 MB
    Total Virtual Memory 433.18 MB
    Available Virtual Memory 190.63 MB
    Page File Space 306.76 MB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Just upgraded the cpu from a pretty messed up win2k pro, to a slow winxp pro.

    We're going to buy more RAM, bump up to 512...

    But the processor is weak. The P3 500 isn't cutting it anymore.

    What processors can I buy that will "plug and play' with this system?

    Thanks in advance for the help! great site for future reference...

    -josh
     
  2. BTS '76

    BTS '76

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    791
    cpu's aren't plug n play, thats the operating system,devices, and bios. The pent. 3 is, I think, the only processor you can use because it's a slot 1 or socket 370. No other cpu uses this, except the pent. 2.(slot 1) and the celeron(socket 370-slot 1) What you can do is upgrade to a 1.1 GHz pent. 3
     
  3. mackey

    mackey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    well thats what I meant, the processor, so I can use a 1.1ghz p3?
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    You haven't upgraded the CPU...just the Operating system and if it was slow before on Win2K and it was messed up you are just compounding the issue by upgrading to XP.....basically writing the same problems to a new OS. A better route would have been fo FDISK and FORMAT the drive to install XP on a clean partition.

    As for the motherboard you can't go much farther as far as CPU upgrades. Looks like the best you can do is 667MHz processor wise and 512MB memory.

    http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/mainboard/mbd/pro_mbd_detail.php?UID=119&MODEL=MS-6183

    Get a newer motherboard, CPU, and memory if you realy want a faster upgrade.
     
  5. BTS '76

    BTS '76

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    791
    Yeah, check this out here
     
  6. mackey

    mackey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    I'da rather just buy a whole new computer the avoid all the hassles..

    I didn't upgrade to winxp, i did a clean install. I intially wanted to fdisk the system, but was running into trouble.

    Thanks for the linK! much appreciated!
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    A new MB and processor costs less than that 1.4g P-II upgrade, I think I'd visit Pricewatch and do some shopping. :)
     
  8. mackey

    mackey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    This is an integrated motherboard though, that means i'd either have to find one, or buy the graphics and sound cards at the same time.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113143

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice