Help! VGA monitor doesn't see video card

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Da_Vinci_Zorgon

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5
I have a new system.
Using PCI-E DVI to VGA connector on end of CRT VGA adaptor attached to either DVI out on PCI-E xfx 6800Ultra Video card.
Message says "Check Connections" and doesn't change at all when I restart pc.
I have both power inputs connected to motherboard 20pin and 4 pin.
Only one pci-e card is on the board, and its properly seated.
No beeps on startup.

Ideas are mucho appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Zorgon.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2005
Messages
591
does the motherboard have onboard video? if so, disable it in BIOS.
does the video card have 2 outputs? if so, switch to the other output.
 

Da_Vinci_Zorgon

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5
-=ZeroHour=- said:
does the motherboard have onboard video? if so, disable it in BIOS.
does the video card have 2 outputs? if so, switch to the other output.
I've tried both DVI out spots.
I can't edit bios settings as I can't see anything on the monitor.
There's no onboard video.

Let me know if you have any other ideas!

Thanks,

Zorgon
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2005
Messages
591
do you know if the pc is booting up? it may not be video that's the problem. do you drives running, cdrom spinning, keyboard lights blinking? it could be that the computer's not boot up.
you should see at some point the 3 lights on the keyboard blink during bootup.
 

Da_Vinci_Zorgon

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5
Keyboard lights come on. Sounds like other devices are activating. Course hard drive is blank so its not doing anything....

Thanks,

Zorgon.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2005
Messages
591
i see now... you haven't even gotten to the step to install the OS.
sounds like you're having a hardware conflict that's preventing the PC from POSTing.

can you list all the hardware you have connected to the motherboard?
i'd suggest you start with the very minimal you need to have connected
 

Da_Vinci_Zorgon

Thread Starter
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5
Turns out the Video card needed an extra power plug in!
Asus said this was only necessary for dual sli card setup.....
xfx card manual doesnt say anything about it.....

Ahh well it is a 6800 ultra.. I guess ultra is for ultra power use...

All is working well now. Thanks to everyone for their input!:cool:

Zorgon.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top