1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help! Virus of some sort on computer

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Jessicaaxo, Nov 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jessicaaxo

Jessicaaxo Thread Starter

I am not good with computers and have no idea what to do so that is why I'm asking here! My laptop runs vista , so what happend is I was looking up song lyrics and long story short it went to a different website then it was intended to, and pop ups were coming up that said something about encryption something . I just didn't click anything because I knew something was wrong. So I opened up task manager and started screwing around by ending processes hoping whatever it was would go away but it didn't work. It eventually started making my cursor blink uncontrollably and I was unable to load Internet explorer or anything else except "advanced system care 6" which is my virus protection. I ran a scan nothing malicious came up . So then I booted into safe mode in hope that I could use Internet, I could but when I tried to go download malware bytes a program that usually works, it said I need permission to. So basically I'm stuck and every time I try to open something it won't open and I just get this sorta ding noise. I tried going within my system files to see what changes were made today and I found a file that was disguised as a window file but was really malicious. I deleted it but it still didnt help anything . Also every time I boot up my computer I get a pop that says something along the lines of unable to load user data/temp have no idea what that means but also when I could open task manager I noticed something named "COM " (I can't remember the exact name but it began with "COM" . Please please please help