1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP with 2000 Pro

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Cummins, Oct 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cummins

    Cummins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Hello,

    I have been running Windows 2000 Pro on my desktop for over a year. Well, last week, I started getting weird error screens. One that I recall was "svchost.exe has generated errors and will be closed" while I was on the internet. Norton was up to date and the computer is scanned once a week. Then, a couple days later I booted up the computer and it said that it had found a new "PCI Device" I tried to install it but it could not find the drivers and I just went on about my business on the computer.
    Then, I started to lose my printing functions, copy and paste functions etc.

    So, I had given up and was going to reinstall 2000 Pro. Well, after formatting and booting off of the CD, it went through the installation process and rebooted my computer. When the Windows 2000 Pro screen came up and said "Starting" it just froze. I let it set there for at least an hour and it never moved off. I rebooted several times and still nothing.

    So, I low level formatted the hard drive, repartitioned and formatted again, still, the same problem. It always hangs up after the first initial reboot after installation.

    What could it be? I am at my wits end here. Could it be my hard drive, video card? Any help you can give me is much appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Memory gone bad??
     
  3. Cummins

    Cummins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Well, I did some searching and found that some of my problems while it was running was associated with the blaster worm. Cut and past functions, not being able to disconnect from my ISP etc. Right before the mishap, I had tried to install SP4.

    But, since I have low level formatted and repartitioned, I wouldnt think this would effect my problem of hanging up at startup.

    :confused:
     
  4. Rache

    Rache Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,398
  5. Anton Wan

    Anton Wan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    It sounds like a memory problem to me also. I do have some software that will test it. All you have to do is download it and move it to a floppy. This will make it bootable and will load the program. Run the quick test first and see if it comes up with anything. You have to sign up to download it. Memory Tester

    TK
     
  6. Cummins

    Cummins Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks fellas, I will see what I can come up with and get back with you.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/171992

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice