help with adding another tower...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

skwat

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
2
I want to know if i can add another tower to my current computer, i just want to add a tower and no monitor. In this tower i want to just put a CD RW drive and whatever it takes to run that drive (if anything is needed). also i might like to put another hard drive and other drives like a DVD ROM. if possible i might like to add more RAM (if i can use this for the computer that has the monitor attached to it.)

:confused: :confused: can i do any of this?:confused: :confused:

thanks for your help.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Add another tower? I am not sure what you are asking here, but if you want a CDR in it you are going to have to add a motherboard, memory, CPU, power supply....another computer. You can have another PC without adding another monitor and keyboard by buying a KVM (Keyboard/Video/Monitor) switch and you can switch between the 2. If you just want a CDR, add it to your current computer. If your current system has enough drive bays and memory slots you can add all items you mentioned in the same PC.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Not really possible to add another case unit.

Your computer should be able to have 4 ide devices attached to it.
ide devices including hard drives, cdrom's, dvd, etc
Your computer should have multiple memory slots, are they all full
 

skwat

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
2
i guess that i wasn't specific enough at first but you got it. i pretty much want to add another computer without the monitor. i read about adding a switch for multiple monitors and such. my computer only has one drive bay and i think another bay for an extra hard drive. all my memory slots are taken up and it only supports up to 512 mb of RAM.

so you're saying that i have to add another motherboard, processor, and all that good stuff just to add a cdr...that sucks, that costs quite a bit. i've tried to find external cases for it but they aren't sold at any stores that i look...thats why i wanted another tower, those are cheaper and i can do more with them.

i guess that you have answered my question, so thanks for you help.

skwat
 
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
well... external anything may be more axpensive than the opposing internal... but it is far less than just buying a whole new computer just to use a cdr. Where do you live? If you have large retailers such as CompUSA or BestBuy, they will have external drives. Otherwise poke around at Buy.com... it is usually better to buy from an online retailer anyway, and Buy.com is good to use and has cheap prices and really good and inexpensive shipping. Stuff will usually be at your door within 24 hours...

BTW rockn... like the new avatar... :D see you finally got one after all these days...
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
They have fast SCSI external burners. You don’t need a pricey SCSI card for a burner.

You might look in the paper for an older used computer without a monitor. You don’t need a lot of computer to support a CD-ROM and burner.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top