1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with Automatically Creating Report in Access

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Robert Houdin, Jul 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Robert Houdin

Robert Houdin Thread Starter

Hi

I am a beginner to Access, please go easy on me. :confused:

I am using Access 2007 on Windows XP.

I am trying to create a very :rolleyes: user-friendly database for my boss to enter expenses. I have created a simple form to enter the expenses. I have also created several queries to sort the expenses into several cost codes. My boss wants to be able to print a report periodically which includes only the expenses for a given month (for a particular cost code). Ideally, I would like to create a form where this month, and the cost code is specified and the corresponding report can be viewed.

Also, how do I set up the database so that when my boss clicks the icon on his desktop, it opens up straight into the main menu (switch board) with no "access" menus or other "distracting" buttons etc. I figured out how to add an "exit application" button to the switchboard, but when this is clicked, the database closes but Access remains open. Is there a way to simultaneously close Access? Basically I want this database to run as if it was a self-contained little program with no margin-for-error (ie my boss accidentally deleting a table or getting lost in the Access program).

Please feel free to give me advice/criticism or tips on how I can improve this database... I'm keeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeen as mustard to learn! (y)

Any help would be very much appreciated!!!

Attached Files:

2. Robert Houdin