1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with autorun

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by DocterRedstone, Mar 20, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DocterRedstone

    DocterRedstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Okay, so just yesterday i started making my own virus rescue dvd, but i need help with some auto run features.
    Is there a way to make it so when you put the dvd into the drive, it automatically launches a program without user interaction?
    (its probably really obvious and when i registered i accidentally clicked intermediate instead of begginer) Please help me!:confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. foxidrive

    foxidrive Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Modern Windows disables the autorun feature that you are looking for.

    It was disabled in an update from Microsoft since Windows XP due to the risk of malware running.
     
  3. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,337
    First Name:
    Karen
    You can and should go back into your profile and change that. :)
     
  4. DocterRedstone

    DocterRedstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    i searched on how to enable it, someone says a certain registry key will do it, is it legit or is it just an autoplay setting i have to set.
     
  5. foxidrive

    foxidrive Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Check the date of the advice that you found - it is unlikely to work IMO, but you didn't show us the link.
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,337
    First Name:
    Karen
    I don't think what you're asking about is autoplay but rather boot sequence.

    Most rescue CDs will boot on most machines. Have you tried it? There may be some user interaction required in order to select the media you wish to boot from.

    If not you may have to change the boot sequence in the BIOS/UEFI.
     
  7. DocterRedstone

    DocterRedstone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you for the advice, i installed linux puppy on the cd so now i can boot from it.
     
  8. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Good choice: Puppy.
    I use it.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1145185

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice