1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with cbs.log

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by andyw80, Aug 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. andyw80

    andyw80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    I have run sfc/scannow as admin and found errors but cannot fix. I have my CBS log but it is too big to post here. How can I get it to you so you can look at it and let me know what the errors are. Please let me know and thanks for your help.

    Running windows 7 64 bit on custom pc..If you need any specs let me know as well...

    Thanks for your time..
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Do you mean Check Disk as Sfc /scannow just checks your system files?
     
  3. andyw80

    andyw80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    I am sorry I dont understand your post. I am asking for somebody to look at my cbs.log and see what the errors are as I cannot make heads or tails of it..
     
  4. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,492
    Just compress the log file with Winzip or Winrar and upload it to this post.
     
  5. andyw80

    andyw80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks..Here is log file. Any help is greatly appreciated!!!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

    • CBS.zip
      File size:
      390.1 KB
      Views:
      54
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You said "I have run sfc/scannow as admin and found errors but cannot fix"

    It usually asks for you to put the Operating Disc in so it can replace the files that are damaged or missing.
     
  7. andyw80

    andyw80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    it does not say that...just says windows resource cannot fix corrupt files. Please see cbs.log..

    any clue?
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Do you have the Operating disc...if so put it in the CD drive and run "sfc /scannow" again
     
  9. andyw80

    andyw80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    that doesn't work...can somebody check out the cbs.log and tell me what you think?
     
  10. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    What problems are you having that you run a sfc scannow?

    "That didn't work"

    what did it say...more info so we can help you.
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    The operating system disk is not needed in Vista or 7. All files can be replaced as needed from their hard-linked counterparts in the Windows SxS folder. No disk is needed for SFC.

    But many errors found by SFC require a reboot for replacement. Those are named in the PendingFileRenameOperations key of the registry. Reboot to complete the operation.

    Any other "errors" can be ignored. The files so-classified are not files that the OS needs to run properly, but often simply unmovable files like the index.dat's.

    What is the problem you are having with your machine that you are attempting to solve in this way?

    Files that belong to other programs and not Windows are not affected in any way by SFC. Did you run the SFC offline when Windows was not running? If you do, all needed files can be replaced.

    (In any case, the cbs.log is of no use to you. The files named cannot be replaced by you, either.)
     
  12. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,492
    Is your computer behaving erratically? Are you getting error popups? Are you getting blue screens? I did look at the log and there are literally hundreds of failed packages pointing to "WindowsUpdateAgent" for example;

    If your computer is giving you issues I would run a Repair Install and see if it resolves the issues. And then run sfc /scannow again "With Admin privileges" and see if you have the same problem.
     
  13. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Whatever the problem is, we can help you with it if you tell us what it is. The log is not the way to fix anything, really.
     
  14. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I see you have started four new threads after this one, regarding BSOD issues. Have you tried the Repair Install suggested above by Lance1?
     
  15. andyw80

    andyw80 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Yes I have..Did not help
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1012350