1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with closing Excel

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by petice, Sep 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. petice

    petice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Recently I downloaded two PDF file converters so I could convert it it into an Excel format.
    Neither worked. I uninstalled these programs. Now it gives me a 'dangerously low on resources' error when I try to exit Excel. Then I get an overall 'dangerously low on resources error' right after the excel error comes us and I have to power down the computer to shut it off.
    I'm a complete novice and of course the Excel files are where I keep all my home based business client files.
    I uninstalled MS office 2000 and reinstalled and it didn't help.
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
  3. petice

    petice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Downloaded the program. Opened Excel, came up with low resources error, crashed machine, manually powered down.
    Restarted, ran Highjack.



    gfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
    Scan saved at 11:22:11 AM, on 9/11/04
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWARE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWR32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTUIT\QUICKBOOKS PREMIER\COMPONENTS\QBAGENT\QBDAGENT2002.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/sbcydsl/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://yahoo.sbc.com/dsl
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/sbcydsl/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/cus.../sbcydsl/*http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/sbcydsl/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://yahoo.sbc.com/dsl
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/sbcydsl/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = c:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\OOBE\BLANK.HTM
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by SBC Yahoo! DSL
    R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
    F1 - win.ini: load=C:\OPLIMIT\ocraware.exe
    O2 - BHO: STOPzilla Browser Helper Object - {E3215F20-3212-11D6-9F8B-00D0B743919D} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {BA52B914-B692-46c4-B683-905236F6F655} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\MCAFEE.COM\VSO\MCVSSHL.DLL
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TCASUTIEXE] TCAUDIAG.EXE -off
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg SchedulerV2.exe
    O4 - Startup: QuickBooks 2002 Delivery Agent.lnk = C:\Program Files\Intuit\QuickBooks Premier\Components\QBAgent\qbdagent2002.exe
    O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {D18F962A-3722-4B59-B08D-28BB9EB2281E} - http://photos.yahoo.com/ocx/us/yexplorer1_9us.cab
    O16 - DPF: {4E888414-DB8F-11D1-9CD9-00C04F98436A} - https://webresponse.one.microsoft.com/oas/ActiveX/winrep.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DDFFA75A-E81D-4454-89FC-B9FD0631E726} - http://www.bundleware.com/activeX/DS3/DS3.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/mickey/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {E855A2D4-987E-4F3B-A51C-64D10A7E2479} (EPSImageControl Class) - http://tools.ebayimg.com/eps/activex/EPSControl_v1-0-3-0.cab
    O16 - DPF: {60EFC337-15C2-4369-B2A0-3429B071D8B8} (WebProgramManager Class) - http://isupport4.hp.com/awebui/jsp/answerweb/applets/HPISWebManager.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {87067F04-DE4C-4688-BC3C-4FCF39D609E7} - http://download.websearch.com/Dnl/T_50188/QDow_AS2.cab
    O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (PCPitstop Utility) - http://pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {74FFE28D-2378-11D5-990C-006094235084} (IBM Access Support) - https://www.pc.ibm.com/egather/IbmEgath.cab
    O16 - DPF: {EF791A6B-FC12-4C68-99EF-FB9E207A39E6} (McFreeScan Class) - http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/iss-loc/vso/en-us/tools/mcfscan/2,0,0,4372/mcfscan.cab
     
  4. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Petice, I don't see anything critical in the log that may be contributing to the issue.

    Right click on My Computer icon and select Properties, then the Performance tab. How much memory is stated and what percentage of your resources is reflected? What is the total RAM memory in your computer?

    Also, run SFC and search for altered or corrupted files. In the event an altered or corrupted file is found, you will need the Installation CD to extract that file from the .cabs. If your system was reinstalled, then the cabs should be in the C:\Windows\Options\Cabs folder.

    Post back any finding.
     
  5. petice

    petice Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    83% system resources free. Ran SFC and the only possible corrupted file is setupx.dll

    After I downloaded the two different PDF converters, I tried converting the file and found it did not work with either of the converter downloads. One of them was in the program file and I uninstalled it. The other was not in the program file so I stupidly sent the folder with the program to the trash. Then more stupidy, I emptied the trash. Is it possible that there is a tenticle still hanging on to something that would affect Excel in this mannor. When I try to close an Excel doc the tool bar at the top disappears and the error comes up.
     
  6. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Chances are that a system file may have gotten currupted, or an entry in your registry is missing or also corrupted. Lets try fixing your registry first.

    Shutdown the computer. From a powered Off state, turn on your computer and hold down the Ctrl key until you have reached the advanced options menu. Select Command prompt only. At the prompt type the following:

    Scanreg /fix

    Press Enter. Upon completion, restart the computer and test.
     
  7. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    I have been checking your hijack this log. I find that the following may affect your resources. As a troubleshooting move I suggest you to create a temporary folder and label this folder tempbak as a backup. Then follow these steps:

    TCASUTIEXE

    Diagnostic Tool
    Deselect the entry throughout MSconfig​
    C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp PowerReg SchedulerV2.exe

    Is being seeing as Spyware
    Move the file from the Startup folder to the tempbak folder​
    C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp OSA9.exe

    The OSA9.exe file does the following​
    :

    Initializes Automation
    Initializes some of the common fonts installed by Office 2000
    Handles certain commands (New Office Document, Find Fast, Open Office Document, Help, and Screen Saver) on the Start menu and on the Office Shortcut Bar Displays Microsoft Outlook notifications when the Office Assistant is available ​
    Move the file from the Startup folder to the tempbak folder​

    Lets see how it goes.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/272807

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice