1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

help with comcast connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by blazingeingi, Apr 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blazingeingi

    blazingeingi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Hello everyone,
    My father recently purchased a comcast cable modem and followed all the steps to installing it. He has a cable running to the modem, from modem to the pc as per instructions.
    On his wireless connection screen it shows the connection as extremely strong, and it should theoretically connect. When he tries to connect, it does so without issue, but the internet refuses to work. I think it might be a settings issue, but have no clue where to look.
    Any input would be appreciated!!
    Ilya
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,211
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Hi Ilya,

    Just to make sure we are not missing a few basic details here ...

    Did he sign up for Comcast high speed Internet when purchased the cable modem?

    Does the cable modem have a built-in wireless access point?

    Does the modem have status lights that show it has a working internet connection?

    You talk about a cable from the modem to the computer and also about a wireless connection. Are you talking about two different computers?

    Is the wireless connection screen for the wireless settings on the modem or for the wireless hardware in the computer?
     
  3. blazingeingi

    blazingeingi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Yes, high speed Internet :).
    Cable modem indeed has a builtin wireless point
    Moden has status lights all showing/blinking when necessary
    I am not refering to 2 computers, I apologize...its a direct connection with wireless capabilities.
    the wireless connection screen for the wireless settings is for the modem(the wireless wizard looks for available networks in range, and finds the one my dad created)
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Did your Dad purchase broadband service from Comcast? Did he call them to verify that they have any information they need from the modem to configure his account?

    I'm not yet convinced there's an active broadband Internet Service Provider account in place.

    The exact make and model of the modem/wireless router would be interesting as well.
     
  5. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,211
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Does the computer have internet access via the wired connection?
     
  6. blazingeingi

    blazingeingi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    yep it does, and yes my dad called comcast and verified everything.
    In the meantime, he told me not to bother, he will not be messing with it for another week since he will be out of town, so I guess we will see waht we can do somewhere down the line.
    Thanks everyone.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/702194

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice