1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with Computer Build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by -WX, Feb 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. -WX

-WX Thread Starter

Dear all,

I am seeking a new computer build for a Animation/Gaming and movie watching purposes.

I am a Flash Animator and will be working on a major Flash project from time to time. I currently use a laptop to do my animations but it lags whenever details become slightly too complex. My laptop has 512 mb RAM. The thing is, I want to know what specific hardware I need to improve my animation experience so that it won't lag or delay. Does the RAM affect the lag I keep getting or is it something else?

I also use my computer to listen to music, watch a ton of movies and play online games. Basically, I need something that is great at multitasking and is able to work smoothly. Fast is the keyword, I love a speedy computer. Who doesn't?

Please recommend me on the specific hardware I will need to look for to build my dream computer.

2. telegramsam

telegramsam

You'll need plenty of RAM, and a GOOD video card.

Stay away from onboard video. That's what causes the lag. Onboard video shares RAM with the system, so intensive video apps are like a big boat anchor to your system.

Look at Intel Core 2 Duo Processors
    Intel or ASUS motherboards
    Seagate 7200.10 hard drives SATA 3.0
    DDR2 667 RAM (2 GB recommended)
    Lite On optical drives (Retail versions, unless you have Nero already)
    And pick out a good video card. If you want to get ready for DX10 now (expensive) look at 8800GTS or 8800GTX. If you're not worried about DX10, look at the X1950XT or X1950PRO.
    Be sure to get a power supply with adequate amperage to handle these power guzzling video cards.