1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with DNS issue- Have tried EVERYTHING!!!!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by ermm23a, Aug 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ermm23a

ermm23a Thread Starter

We recently switched to ATT Uverse for internet provider. We have several wireless devices in the house, a toshiba laptop, iphones, kindle and 2 dell laptops. Every single thing is connecting to the internet fine and dandy except for 1 dell laptop. It is connecting to the network, but not the internet saying that the DNS server isn't responding.

I am not a computer expert by any means, but typically I can browse tech forums and figure out how to resolve any issues. I have tried flushing the DNS thingie, going to run and typing in CMD and doing the ipconfig prompts. I have ensured that the DNS settings are set to connect automatically. Nothing has helped. I do not know what to do to fix this. I called ATT tech support and they said it's an issue with that one computer since the other devices in the house are all working properly.

Everything I have found online about fixing this error I have tried, and none of it has worked. Does anyone have any suggestions? I am almost ready to pull an "office space" and just chunk it out in the yard. It's really starting to make me mad. :mad:

2. ETech7

ETech7

So it actually gets a valid IP from your router, not something like 168.254.xxx.xxx?
    If yes, did you try to set up TCP/IP setting including DNS manually? If not, try that, flush dns again and then see what happens. Try pinging localhost (127.0.0.1). can you browse by IP (http://74.125.226.200/)?

3. Elvandil

Elvandil

Try http://74.125.226.200 (since ETech7's link will bring you to an error rather than Google).