1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with driver

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tlarseth, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tlarseth

    tlarseth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I have a Toshiba Laptop Model # A105-S2081

    I have reinstalled windows with a disk I had to buy since I don't have the toshiba ghost image disk that came with the system anymore, and after installing windows I was able to get all my drivers but the "SM Bus Controller". I went to toshiba's website http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/su/su_sc_modItemList.jsp?moid=1310940&ct=DL&[email protected]@@@[email protected]@@@&BV_EngineID=ccceaddkdffimdicgfkceghdgngdgmn.0, but there was no download for this driver. I did a google search for it, and nothing but other models were found. Does anyone know of a play that I can get these drivers? I have also tried driverguide.com to no avail.
     
  2. bernardus

    bernardus

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    538
  3. tlarseth

    tlarseth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    I went to that link, and it tells me to install the intel chipset indentify utiliy, and when I ran the utility, it told me I didn't have an intel system, which I do, as I have an intel Celeron processor.

    Here is a link to the user guide for the system I have, hopes this helps someone find an answer to my question I have been looking for ages for.

    http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/...BV_EngineID=ccchaddkdlejldhcgfkceghdgngdgmm.0
     
  4. bernardus

    bernardus

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    538
    Just having a Intel Processor does n't mean that you have an Intel chipset.
    A chipset is a set of an adapted configuration. It is risky to instal a inf routine, all drivers will have to be reinstalled. I did that once it took a book of a manual to print. But if you load all necessary drivers previous you could succeed.
    A handy tool is Aïda 32 or Everest (identical) These analyse your system comprehensively with links for drivers or updates. Seems that you have a ATI radion 200 chipset.
    http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/ProductInformation/0,,30_118_14603_14616^14663,00.html
    bernardus
     
  5. tlarseth

    tlarseth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    The thing is that I don't want to take the laptop apart to find what chipset it is. Is there a utility or such to find out what kind of motherboard is on this system, so that I can get the correct version of the ini file.

    Okay, I am editing and removing part of this post because I can no longer find the restore CD that came with this laptop.
     
  6. bernardus

    bernardus

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    538
    No. that is to say Norton can Backup your drivers of course but only as an exe file. If you have your drivers stored you can reinstall them. But since any driver has been implemented in the registers, you can't restore them as active. You don't have to open your PC to find out what your chipset is. Another option is driver detective, a program that analyses your system and recommend drivers. with Aída you should perfectly and easy analyse your whole system. S.I.W. is also a good program and stores a HTML file which you can read or print including all sofware. A mountain of information. See also http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/...ngineID=ccccaddiedeklgicgfkceghdgngdgnj.0&ct=
    The fowing file is what I finally found http://cdgenp01.csd.toshiba.com/content/support/downloads/sa105v14.exe

    Bernardus
     
  7. tlarseth

    tlarseth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Well, the Driverguide toolkit detects the device as an "sb400 smbus controller". Did a google search for it, but only came up with linux drivers, and no windows ones.
     
  8. bernardus

    bernardus

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    538
  9. tlarseth

    tlarseth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
  10. tlarseth

    tlarseth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Okay, I finally got this fixed, had to use a literally old driver (2005) from ATI that contained the southbridge drivers, and now the device is working fine. Once I did that I was able to download the newest driver from AMD/ATI to update my video drivers.

    Before when I tried to just install the newest drivers, it would give me an error that the driver was missing, which I have isolated to being the southbridge for laptops/integrated ATI video. I took it upon myself to contact their techsupport to see if this was maybe a problem with their site or the installer, and they said that it is a known issue that should be fixed within a few days...guess they are ahead of me.
     
  11. bernardus

    bernardus

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    538
    Whell a selffulfilling prophecy.

    bernardus
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/541337

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice