1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with excel coding for sending email on specific dates

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by NickS7178, Jul 4, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NickS7178

NickS7178 Thread Starter

Greetings all,

I am a novice at best on using excel, but through some searching and experimentation I have managed to get to a roadblock I cannot pass. I am working on setting up a workbook that emails at specific dates for reminders to people in my department. I believed I had it working however I have run into two issues.

One is a run type error 13 that highlights toDate = Replace(Cells(i, 3), ".", "/") when I run the debug.

The second is that no matter what I try to do I continue to receive error messages. Can I ask that one of the very talented excel knowledgeable people here look to find where I am making my errors?

Thank you much in advance with any assistance you can provide which will stop me from pulling out my hair.

Attached Files:

2. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

The ToDate function is failing because your code is looping through row by row and eventually hitting the blank "separator" rows which do not contain any values. Does each group of records separated by the blank rows represent different projects? If so you need to add logic to ignore the header rows and blank separator rows. I'm also confused on why exactly you are using the "replace" and "ToDate" functions. Will the values in column "C" not be in a date format to begin with? Below is an example of how to handle the blank rows and header rows (note the "IF" statement I added to your loop)

Code:
    For i = 2 To lRow

If Cells(i, 3) <> "Due Date" And Not IsEmpty(Cells(i, 3)) Then

toDate = Replace(Cells(i, 3), ".", "/")