help with internet explorer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pointman_12

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
8
i'm using ie6 patched...every time i close out an ie window, i get the fatal error box saying ie caused a fatal error...i uninstalled the patch and reinstalled ie6 and updated it with the patches from microsoft and still get the error...anyone have an idea how to fix this problem...i'm running w98se...
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
If you are using 98 and internet explorer6 then go to add/remove programs , select internet explorer form the list then select remove. That should bring up the option to repair. Select it and reboot when complete.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Also give us a copy/paste of a HijackThis Scanlog...

http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/

And can you provide the full, exact error message -- is this a "blue screen" fatal exception? I've never seen one referencing Internet Explorer specifically.
 

pointman_12

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
8
i'll have to wait until i get home to use that software...the title on the box is iexplore...in the box it says this: IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in module Kernel32.dll

i use several adaware checkers, run a za/pro and nod32 anitvirus...
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Kernel32 errors are almost always caused by software conflicts rather than inherent problems with IE itself. So something there is probably getting in the way. Usually this is spy or adware doing something when the page is closed, but sometimes legitimate applications such as antivirus programs can do it also.

But by all means give the IE Repair Tool a run; sometimes misregistered or incompatible dlls can still be found and fixed.

It should help to have a look at the Scanlog.
 

pointman_12

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
8
repairing it seemed to work...then i closed out an ie window and got it again...here is the text file...i attached it and also displayed it here...

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 9:01:53 PM, on 9/30/03
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ESET\NOD32KRN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ESET\NOD32KUI.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZAPRO.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\DESKTOP ARCHITECT\DATRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ANALOGX\POW\POW.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ID-BLASTER PLUS\IDBLASTERPLUS.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MRU-BLASTER\SCHEDULER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\PESTPATROL\PPUPDATER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\MY DOCUMENTS\MY STUFF\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 6.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\windows\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll
O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\DLPROTECT.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\windows\googletoolbar_en_2.0.95-deleon.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PestPatrol Control Center] C:\Program Files\PestPatrol\PPControl.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nod32kui] C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32kui.exe /WAITSERVICE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] C:\PROGRA~1\ZONELA~1\ZONEAL~1\zapro.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PPMemCheck] C:\PROGRA~1\PESTPA~1\PPMemCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CookiePatrol] C:\PROGRA~1\PESTPA~1\CookiePatrol.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [NOD32kernel] C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32krn.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Desktop Architect] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\DESKTOP ARCHITECT\DATRAY.EXE" -S
O4 - Startup: POW.lnk = C:\Program Files\AnalogX\POW\pow.exe
O4 - Startup: ID blaster.lnk = C:\Program Files\ID-Blaster Plus\idblasterplus.exe
O4 - Startup: MRU-Blaster Scheduler.lnk = C:\Program Files\MRU-Blaster\scheduler.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cac&hed Snapshot of Page - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Si&milar Pages - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward &Links - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page - res://C:\WINDOWS\GOOGLETOOLBAR_EN_2.0.95-DELEON.DLL/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'imon.dll' missing
O12 - Plugin for .bcf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPBelv32.dll
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37870.7083796296
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Well I don't see any "malware" there. It might be Taskmonitor faulting, or any of a number of other programs.

I would run msconfig and under the Startup tab Uncheck all but the following for testing:

ScanRegistry
Systray
LoadPowerProfiles
Point32.exe
Zapro.exe

Carefull what you do as you will be without Antivirus protection. If the error does not occur in this configuration, recheck your antivirus apps first and see if it starts. Continue to reenable applications until you isolate the culprit.

You do have this issue in the Scanlog:

O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'imon.dll' missing.

You may be able to "fix" that with HijackThis, but a better method is to download the lspfix program from the site below, move the protocol into the "Remove" window and indicate you "know what you are doing"

http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm
 

pointman_12

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
8
the imon.dll is associated with nod32...i'm emailing them now to see how many of dll's there are suppose to be...there is one in my c:\windows\system file and one in the eset/nod32 file...they were both created the same day so i would tend to think they are ok...i did use google to search imon.dll and found a couple of sites...

this one on the google search page, the way it looks to be numbered, looks like it came from a log file (maybe hijackthis)

TweakXP.com - Support Forum
... O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM) O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'imon.dll' missing O16 ...

if you go to the page, you get this...

http://tweakxp.com/hostsfix.htm

anyway, i'll try what you suggested and wait to hear from nod32 support...i'm not a total idiot (no cracks...hehehe) but this is driving me crazy
 

pointman_12

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
8
what's really driving me crazy is i can close some windows and i won't get the error box...but most of the time, it comes up...the last one it was a fault in rpcrt.dll that caused it...maybe i need to backup my stuff and reinstall windows...
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
If you have a copy of that dll in c:\windows\system and it is associated with your antivirus then HijackThis is just not detecting it properly, ignore the "broken internet access" message.

If your error in rpcrt.dll is similar to this one, let's try the same resolutions:

http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/win98/r1058738384

You've already done IE Repair. Try also independently registering urlmon.dll.

Start, run, enter:

regsvr32 urlmon.dll

the mcrepair patch installs a compatible set of ole files.

Problems with the oleaut32.dll have been common with upgrades to IE 6. Another possiblilty is to restore that using the System File Checker (SFC)
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,836
Controversial point here, but I have, too, have had problems such as you describe with the Win98/OE6 combination. I reverted to IE5.5 SP2 and have not had any problems since. Just my 2¢ worth.

BTW.. I recentely started using MyIE2 alternate browser and it works even better. Lots of graet faetures not available in IE. It runs on the IE shell and is very similar in appearance and function. It's free and if you are interested can get it here:

http://www.myie2.com/html_en/home.htm

I recommend the "Lite" version.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Actually that's a good point. I myself use Opera7 exclusively on my Win98 system and almost exclusively in XP. About the only time I use IE is for test purposes and for some Microsoft Domains.

IE is currently unsafe no matter how recently patched.
 

pointman_12

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
8
i appreciate all the help...i downloaded the lite version of myie2 and haven't had any problems so far...i didn't have much time to use it much...i haven't had the chance to try all the other suggestions yet...Nod32 emailed me a new imon.dll to place in the file to see if that helps...haven't had a chance to do that either...i'll try the annoyances.org part also...if i can't fix it, i'll just use another browser...
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Okedoke, keep us updated.

You might want to give Opera a tryout too. I'm not sure if MyIE shares the same security flaws as IE; I do know that Opera doesn't because it does not share any files with IE.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top