1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with my 5ghz network :(

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Jackehboy, Jan 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jackehboy

    Jackehboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Hello all! Recently I have gotten new internet and upgraded from my sad excuse of a provider.

    ANYWAYS. Our modem/router is dual band and my wireless adapter that I use for my computer is dual band enabled...

    Usually I wouldn't worry about it, but with everyone at home streaming netflix, phones, games all at once our internet goes to crap...


    On break today I was messing with the 5ghz.. I have tried both types of security keys and am enterting them right but my computer wont connect to the 5ghz it just says problem and doesnt list anything.. BUT if i take a code off the 5ghz all together my computer connects no problems and flys with speed..

    So is there something I need to do to allow my PC to connect to the 5ghz with a key? I mean I am typing it in correct... Hell I even changed the code to something easier to see if that would work!

    HELP :(
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try updating the wireless adapter driver on the PC
    whats the make and exact model of the pc
    and the wireless adapter
    post an ipconfig /all - see how below

    the 5GHZ is NOT going to help with this
    IT WILL help to avoid interference from other networks
    BUT if you are all on the same wireless network, then the issue is the download bandwidth you have from your provider

    Its not enough for the usage you are putting it too.
    You may have to upgrade to a higher level of download speed, which may not be available to you anyway

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Jackehboy

    Jackehboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    How isnt the 5 ghz network going to help?? Everyone is on the 2.4...... If I myself can connect to just the 5ghz wouldnt that be better for me and I would have better speed????
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jack-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR WNDA3100v2 N600 Wireless Dual Band USB Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 28-C6-8E-63-36-77
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::184d:f022:cb5d:3f18%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.7(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 23, 2014 11:38:04 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 24, 2014 11:42:03 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 371771022
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-B4-B7-6A-00-21-70-5C-1B-C1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-70-5C-1B-C1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{FEEAE4E0-8A73-4EB2-AD02-AE2C7BC43ECB}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:3452:932:3f57:fef8(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3452:932:3f57:fef8%19(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    If your problem is congestion on the 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi then using the 5 GHz network will probably help. But, if your problem is total internet usage equal to the bandwidth you get from your ISP then it doesn't matter which wireless network you use or even if you use ethernet.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is that ipconfig /all with you connected to the 5GHZ signal- and with Encryption enabled or not?
     
  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    If someone in the home connects to the 2.4GHz network because they have a network adapter that only uses 802.11g, would that not slow the entire wireless connection to the maximum throughput of the device using the 802.11g network adapter?

    Or is that only true with single-band routers?
     
  7. Jackehboy

    Jackehboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Thats what I am trying to do is get just myself to the 5ghz network.. We have 3 phones, 2 pcs, and netflix all on the 2.4..
     
  8. Jackehboy

    Jackehboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    No. that is me connected to the 2.4 with the encryption.
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    so connect to the 5Ghz network
    and with encryption - does it connect but no internet or refuse to connect at all?
     
  10. Jackehboy

    Jackehboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    It shows up on my choices, and lets me have the option to connect to it, and it even asks me for the password but then it just says It cant connect and trouble shoot the problem and there is nothing with the trouble shoot..

    HERES THE 5GHZ WITH NO PASSCODE ON IT

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jack-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR WNDA3100v2 N600 Wireless Dual Band USB Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 28-C6-8E-63-36-77
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::184d:f022:cb5d:3f18%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.7(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 23, 2014 12:10:55 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 24, 2014 12:10:55 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 371771022
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-B4-B7-6A-00-21-70-5C-1B-C1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-70-5C-1B-C1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{FEEAE4E0-8A73-4EB2-AD02-AE2C7BC43ECB}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:6ab8:1436:3ddb:3f57:fef8(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1436:3ddb:3f57:fef8%19(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    I'm not sure, but think that's not the case for 802.11n. I have a 802.11n router (2.4 GHz only) and right now have a 'g' adapter connected getting 14 Mbps download (Speedtest.net) and am getting 25 Mbps on another PC with an 'n' adapter. 25 is possible on a 'g' network, but not likely.

    What you said is definitely true for a 'g' network with a 'b' connected; nobody gets more than 'b' speeds.
     
  13. Jackehboy

    Jackehboy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    I have them updated to the latest. :( Is there a certain secruity type I should be on? I just cant understand why I can connect when its unlocked but not when its locked..
     
  14. jhayz

    jhayz

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    543
    Just a thought, try removing your wireless network profile on 2.4 ghz which connects automatically presumably. Then connect on the 5 ghz wireless SSID with password turned on.
     
  15. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,241
    First Name:
    Cody
    Thanks for the response. I've been working on getting my Network+ certification and that was something I learned recently.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1118224

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice