1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with my internet

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by mchapin9, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mchapin9

    mchapin9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Hey, I was wondering if anyone could help me with my problem. For a while now I have been unable to view websites such as Myspace.com, microsoft.com, msn.com and other miscellaneous websites. I can view them thru proxies, but not thru my browser. We have 3 computers, and they all used to be networked, and they all 3 have teh same problem now. I took my computer off of the network, and completely reformatted (deleted the partition and reinstalled a new fresh copy of windows) , and I still get the same problem. Does anyone know how to fix the problem?
     
  2. mchapin9

    mchapin9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    57
  3. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    This is not real time tech support - do not bump after 16 minutes!!!!!!!!!

    Post a hijack log
     
  4. mchapin9

    mchapin9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 2:59:16 PM, on 2/15/2007
    Platform: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\explorer.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\AIM\aim.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5\guard.exe
    C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5\avgas.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgamsvr.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgemc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgupsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG7\avgcc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG7\avgwb.dat
    C:\Program Files\Matt\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [!AVG Anti-Spyware] "C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5\avgas.exe" /minimized
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\PROGRA~1\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
    O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\PROGRA~1\AIM\aim.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG Anti-Spyware Guard - Anti-Malware Development a.s. - C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG Anti-Spyware 7.5\guard.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Alert Manager Server (Avg7Alrt) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgamsvr.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Update Service (Avg7UpdSvc) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgupsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG E-mail Scanner (AVGEMS) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVG7\avgemc.exe
     
  5. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    How are they now connected

    What errors

    Is the problem with all site or just some

    START RUN - ipconfig /flushdns
     
  6. mchapin9

    mchapin9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    do those help??
     
  7. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Please answer my questions - how are they connected now?

    All sites????????

    http://www.snapfiles.com/get/winsockxpfix.html

    ============
    Power all equipment off and then power on the modem first and then whatever else is in the loop
     
  8. mchapin9

    mchapin9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    how are what connected? what do you mean
     
  9. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    You said they were networked - so how are they connected to the net now
     
  10. mchapin9

    mchapin9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Now it's just a direct connection to the internet.
     
  11. mchapin9

    mchapin9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Also, only a select few sites don't load, like MYSPACE, MSN, microsoft (can't get updates), netflix, etc.

    Obviously some work, as I'm on this one.
     
  12. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Do the power off procedure

    So you have 1 PC to one modem (Cable?) or is there a router
     
  13. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Did you do winsock
     
  14. mchapin9

    mchapin9 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Well see every site used to work, so IDK if that is the problem. It didn't start messing up until the computers were networked , i think my brother downloaded some crap on his and infected them all.

    But anyways, we have a MODEM/ROUTER all in one, the brand is netopia. Then we also have another router, which is linksys. It goes thru both, and the cable goes right from the router to the PC.
     
  15. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    Why 2 routers

    For now direct connect one PC to the modem and see what happens

    But power down the modem and the pc then power up the mode and then the pc
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544345

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice