1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with server, localhost: how to connect with ftp manager??

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Matej, Jun 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Matej

    Matej Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Hello i ve downloaded Php Triad ( a server with php and mysql in it ).

    Everything works fine ( i am using it for testing invision and phpbb boards ) but i dont know how to connect with ftp manager to change chmods of folders and files, please help. Give me link, instructions, anything?? Do i have to download some ftp manager, which one, what is then my host , is it localhost then.....
     
  2. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    What Operating system are you using? Do you know if you have an ftp server running on your server? Do you know if you server is running Secure Shell?
     
  3. Matej

    Matej Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    I am using win xp...i am not sure about the other things
     
  4. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    A couple I've used are CuteFTP and FTP Voyager. More personal choice than anything else. There's a ton out there. Just start searching the Internet for one you like.
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    I take it this is your own machine running IIS or are you running Apache? Are you trying to upload files to the machine remotely? You will need to have an ftp server running on the machine to upload files to it remotely. I cannot remember if IIS has ftp built into it or not.

    There is no such thing as chmod in the Windows World. That is a unix thing.
     
  6. CharlieMouse

    CharlieMouse

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    I use Phptraid for php testing, its a great program. Why do you need to change chmods. I use BulletProof FTP Server for my ftp needs
    --http://www.bpftpserver.com/. Its also a great program.

    If you are trying to gain access to the database from a remote computer you have to give perrmission to the client form the host computer.
    SQL command--
    mysql>GRANT ALL ON DATABASENAME.* TO 'your_mysql_name'@'your_client_host';

    all files you want to view though your webbroswer has to be in your htdocs folder
    you can test your codes by typing:
    http://localhost/name_of_files.php or http://127.0.0.1/name_of_file.php or http://192.168.x.xxx/name_of_file.php.

    If this doesn't help tell me more in detail what your trying to do, cause i not too sure :)



    LwdSquashman: phptraid installs Apache, Mydql, and php.
     
  7. CharlieMouse

    CharlieMouse

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    148
  8. CharlieMouse

    CharlieMouse

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    If you want to connect to your localhost to upload files here what you do.

    Download BulletProof FTP Serve
    install that on your localhost.
    once it installs you will see a menu bar-you will see a button with single head and a button with many heads. Click the single head.
    right click on the right colum and create new user account(this will be the username needed to access the ftp folder.)

    than in the left colum right click and add new folder, if you want to upload to your htdocs folder select that.

    once that folder is created on the right edge on colum you will see read, write, delete, etc. select all that you will the client to be able to do.

    Next create a password at the in the blacks provided.
    Click ok and than go to server and select GO ONLINE.

    Than all you have to do is open your webbroswer and type:
    From the server you can type. FTP://localhost or FTP://127.0.0.1--(this is a loop back and your computer will always know it at that address)

    From a remote computer type your Ip address, Ex FTP://192.168.2.5
    hope this help :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/238844

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice