Help with shut down/restart

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

funkadelik

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
7
i have a problem.. i cant shut down/restart without telling the computer to do it TWICE.... the first time, it seems like all the applications are shutting down, but does about half the job. Some apps are still up. The second time it shuts down/restarts... any way i can fix this annoying problem?

PS i have windows XP fully updated from windows update.com and its an Emachines T2080.........
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
313
See if this is of help.Remember to backup the registry first.

Change the timeout value used by Windows XP for shutting down Services. You will need to use the Registry Editor to do this. Click on the Start button, select the Run entry, type in REGEDIT and click OK. In the left pane of the Windows Explorer-like Regedit window, navigate down to this "folder":

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SYSTEM/CurrentControlSet/Control.


Click on the Control "folder" and one of the entries in the right pane of the window will be called "WaitToKillServiceTimeout". The default value is 20000, and that allows that many milliseconds for the timeout to occur, which amounts to 20 seconds! Right click on this value and select Modify in order to set it to a lower value. ( I set it to 2000, which allows 2 seconds for the timeout, and that has not caused me any problems.) Then exit Regedit
 

funkadelik

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
7
wait... that worked the first time.. then it was the same old thing.. anymore suggestions /:)
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
It may be an issue with a particular application that is running. Go to start / run / msinfo32/ software environment / startup programs / edit / select all / edit / copy then paste that info here in a response.
 

funkadelik

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
7
2wSysTray c:\program files\2wire\2portalmon.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Ad-watch c:\program files\lavasoft\ad-aware 6\ad-watch.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Advanced Tools Check c:\progra~1\norton~1\advtools\advchk.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
BJCFD c:\program files\broadjump\client foundation\cfd.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
IPInSightLAN 01 "c:\program files\visual networks\visual ip insight\sbc\ipclient.exe" -l All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
IPInSightMonitor 01 "c:\program files\visual networks\visual ip insight\sbc\ipmon32.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Microsoft Works Update Detection c:\program files\microsoft works\wkdetect.exe HYPNO\Angel HKU\S-1-5-21-3410288154-3585186845-1726409691-1005\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
NeroCheck c:\windows\system32\nerocheck.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
QuickTime Task "c:\program files\quicktime\qttask.exe" -atboottime All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
RoxioAudioCentral "c:\program files\roxio\easy cd creator 6\audiocentral\rxmon.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
Yahoo! Pager c:\program files\yahoo!\messenger\ypager.exe -quiet HYPNO\Angel HKU\S-1-5-21-3410288154-3585186845-1726409691-1005\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
ccApp "c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\ccapp.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
ccRegVfy "c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\ccregvfy.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
desktop desktop.ini NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM Startup
desktop desktop.ini HYPNO\Angel Startup
desktop desktop.ini .DEFAULT Startup
desktop desktop.ini All Users Common Startup
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
You can go to start / run / msconfig/ startup tab and uncheck the entry for each of these , reboot and see if anything changes on the next reboot.

Adaware
Broadjump client foundation
visual networks - ipclient.exe
ipmon32.exe
microsoft works\wkdetect.exe
quicktime\qttask.exe
nerocheck.exe
easy cd creator 6\audiocentral\rxmon.exe
yahoo!\messenger\ypager.exe
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top