Help with upgrading computer with new hardware

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

coolboy0286

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
110
http://support.gateway.com/s/PC/R/1009212/1009212sp2.shtml

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ My specs

Recently Ive decided to get a new video card, one that won't force me to think of suicide whenever getting a newly released game, this 7300LE sucks major time. I'm thinking of getting a 8800GTS (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...0038&ATT=14-130-038&CMP=OTC-pr1c3grabb3r#spec) but the problem is that I don't think my current 300w power can support it, so Im thinking of getting a new psu also, I was wondering if this(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817104015) would work out with everything I have.
 

coolboy0286

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
110
I don't think you PC would support a second video card in SLI and thats where that PSU would be handy

I dont get this part, please explain lol, I'm still quite a newbie at computer hardwares.

Also, is it easier for me to spend 80 bucks to have the guys at bestbuy to install the PSU and video card or is it better if I do it myself? I have never opened up a computer before. Can I also keep the 7300LE I have now alongside with the 8800GTS or does that yield no benefit or is it just not possible? Is there anything else I need to get to support the video card aside from a new PSU?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
there are MBs with 2 PCI-e16x slots you dont have one
depends on how adventurous you are as far as gfx card and psu install
 

coolboy0286

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
110
So I only have one PCI-e16x slot(for the 8800GTS), Id have to take out my 7300LE? What are the chances of me breaking my computer/gfx card/psu/my neck/etc while trying to install a psu and the 8800gts?
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
13,404
coolboy0286 said:
So I only have one PCI-e16x slot(for the 8800GTS), Id have to take out my 7300LE? What are the chances of me breaking my computer/gfx card/psu/my neck/etc while trying to install a psu and the 8800gts?
yes
pretty low both jobs are easy
if its a brand new pc it might void the warentee?
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
$80 to install a PSU and video card? Seriously?
 

coolboy0286

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
110
Yea thats pretty scary...... I mean I don't want to accidentally break something that I don't want broken.
@Triple6, Unless you can find me someone or some service other than geeksquad thats near me and reliable, id have to spend 80 bucks.
Btw, if I were to get the 8800gts(the superglocked one with link in 1st post), how long do you think itll last until I have to turn every setting at minimum?
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
Darn, the place I work would charge between $25(likely this) to $50.
 

coolboy0286

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
110

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
The 8800GTS is a really powerful card, I don't see it struggling for several years, my Radeon X850XT has lasted me two years and it been out longer then that and it still does well in Prey and FEAR.

I think the 500 watt will serve you fine.
 

coolboy0286

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
110
The main thing Im worrying about here is that the 2 pieces of hardware WONT FIT into my computer or is not compatible with my computer, can you please like quadrouple check lol, this is the first time im upging my computer and 1st time im buying hardware from online, its all very new to me, sorry if I sound like a insecure 5 year old lol.
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
There is a chance that the inside of the case isn't laid out well and that the video card may hit against something due to it being fairly big. But from the pictures I've seen and the dimensions it should fit nicely. The PSU should fit OK, they are fairly standard on Gateway computers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top