Help with WIN2K Pro

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

physician

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,421
I came home and none of my programs would start with the mouse. I did have a message about winlogon.exe problem also at this time (first time to ever see it) So I did the start button and restart. I immediately got a bsod. I did not get the error, but it did say something bout disconnecting the last device that I had connected - which there were none. So I did a reboot and nothing - I got an error message that said to put the Win 2K Cd in and I did. I tried to do a repair, then an emergency repair with no luck as it asked for the emergency disk which I never had, just the install disk. So I thought no problem, I would use the Win2k boot disk that I have - wrong. I got an error message:
<windows2000root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe


Next, I booted up in linux and no problems - surfed the net etc. So I rebooted and the boot made it thru grub then I got this error: file missing or corrupt \winnt\system32config\systemced

Can anyone figure outwhat is going on, what the problem is and how I can fix it. I do have the option to do a repair with the installation disk. Appreciate it...doc
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,093
Unless you have added some new hardware [like a raid controller] that message generally means you have a damaged and or corrupted registry.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,093
If you are successful in repairing your system, download and run the hd mgf's utility for checking the drive. Your hd may be failing.
 

physician

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,421
crjdriver said:
If you are successful in repairing your system, download and run the hd mgf's utility for checking the drive. Your hd may be failing.
i am running raid 0 setup. if it has failed, then there was no warning...doc
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
2,243
yes i have try that before download the 6 disks for xp dont worry then download the Windows 2000 Registry Repair Utility and run it then You will be asked to insert Disk No. 6 of the Windows XP Setup Boot Disks into your floppy drive, it will write new files to that disk then you can use those 6 disks to boot up the windows 2000 machine and Select the Repair option easy
 

physician

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,421
natcom said:
yes i have try that before download the 6 disks for xp dont worry then download the Windows 2000 Registry Repair Utility and run it then You will be asked to insert Disk No. 6 of the Windows XP Setup Boot Disks into your floppy drive, it will write new files to that disk then you can use those 6 disks to boot up the windows 2000 machine and Select the Repair option easy
thanks. i downloaded the disks and was wondering if i have to make six floppies. can i just burn one cd and run it from there, then use the repair app after from the same disc...doc
 

physician

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,421
Natcom

my computer guy who built the computer said that if it would not do a repair or recovery from the disk - then my problem was that somehow my raid controller was messed up. He had me do a reinstall of the raid controller and it booted all the way up to the windows screen. It then went to a bsod with a fatal system error c 000021a. it said to uninstall the last hardware that i installed (none recently) and then reboot. at least now i can boot into safe mode - wrong got the same bsod in safe mode. I still need help here - don't know what is going on. guess i'll try a repair again...doc
 

physician

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,421
another update

reinstalled the raid drivers and was able to use the win2k disk to get to the repair tools. they did not work for me. so i did the install route to get to the second repair options that you get when it detects your win OS - this worked. it repaired the raid drivers again and other things unknown to me. then we rebooted again (i cant tell you how many times i have watched this thing reboot tonite). apparently i am now doing a reinstall and will lose all my data - i am crushed...doc
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
2,243
hold on dont rush anything you dont have to lose your data do a Parallel Installation of Windows 2000

Start your computer by using the Windows 2000 CD-ROM After the Setup program finishes inspecting the computer's hardware, press ENTER to set up Windows.
Press the F8 key to agree to the Windows Licensing Agreement.
Press the ESC key to install a fresh copy of Windows.
Press ENTER to set up Windows on the selected partition.

NOTE: You can install Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 on any available partition with sufficient free space. If there are problems with your Boot.ini file, you may want to install Windows on the same partition as the original installation. Your values in the Boot.ini file are the same.
Press ENTER to leave the current file system intact.

IMPORTANT: If you choose to change the file system, you will lose data from the partition to which you are installing.
Press ESC to install Windows in a different folder.

If you installed the original copy of Windows in the default Winnt folder, you must type the name of a different folder, and then press ENTER.
After you change the default folder to a different folder, you can proceed with the installation procedure. Select the components and settings

this will let you install another windows 2000 and keep the old 2000 os you had but you dont have to boot to the old one after you tranfer everything from the old os to the new 1 delate the old windows 2000 easy
 

physician

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,421
natcom said:
hold on dont rush anything you dont have to lose your data do a Parallel Installation of Windows 2000

Start your computer by using the Windows 2000 CD-ROM After the Setup program finishes inspecting the computer's hardware, press ENTER to set up Windows.
Press the F8 key to agree to the Windows Licensing Agreement.
Press the ESC key to install a fresh copy of Windows.
Press ENTER to set up Windows on the selected partition.

NOTE: You can install Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 on any available partition with sufficient free space. If there are problems with your Boot.ini file, you may want to install Windows on the same partition as the original installation. Your values in the Boot.ini file are the same.
Press ENTER to leave the current file system intact.

IMPORTANT: If you choose to change the file system, you will lose data from the partition to which you are installing.
Press ESC to install Windows in a different folder.

If you installed the original copy of Windows in the default Winnt folder, you must type the name of a different folder, and then press ENTER.
After you change the default folder to a different folder, you can proceed with the installation procedure. Select the components and settings

this will let you install another windows 2000 and keep the old 2000 os you had but you dont have to boot to the old one after you tranfer everything from the old os to the new 1 delate the old windows 2000 easy
i am in as a temporary user, it does not save any changes i make, it says my registry is corrupt and wont let me log in as administrator. any suggestions on how to fix the registry...doc
 

physician

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,421
here is my hijack this log. wondering if i have something bad that has taken over my computer...doc


Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
Scan saved at 10:26:58 PM, on 9/16/2004
Platform: Windows 2000 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.00 (5.00.2920.0000)

Running processes:
C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\CTSvcCDA.exe
C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\hidserv.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\nod32cc.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\nod32m2.exe
C:\WINNT\System32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\regsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Dantz\Retrospect\retrorun.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\MSTask.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\stisvc.exe
C:\WINNT\System32\WFXSVC.EXE
C:\WINNT\System32\mspmspsv.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINNT\Explorer.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\msiexec.exe
C:\Program Files\Eset\amon.exe
C:\Program Files\Eset\pop3scan.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Hardware\Keyboard\type32.exe
C:\Program Files\Creative\ShareDLL\CtNotify.exe
C:\WINNT\MXOALDR.EXE
C:\Program Files\Creative\ShareDLL\MediaDet.Exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Maxtor\OneTouch\Utils\OneTouch.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\MOZILL~2\firefox.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\WinZip\winzip32.exe
C:\DOCUME~1\TEMP\LOCALS~1\Temp\HijackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\dlprotect.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINNT\System32\msdxm.ocx
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINNT\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [anvshell] anvshell.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Amon] "C:\Program Files\Eset\amon.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NOD32POP3] "C:\Program Files\Eset\pop3scan.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Nod32CC] "C:\WINNT\system32\nod32cc.exe" -DONTSHOW
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IntelliType] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Hardware\Keyboard\type32.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Disc Detector] C:\Program Files\Creative\ShareDLL\CtNotify.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MXO Auto Loader] C:\WINNT\MXOALDR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MaxtorOneTouch] C:\PROGRA~1\Maxtor\OneTouch\Utils\OneTouch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LiveNote] livenote.exe
O4 - Startup: ERUNT AutoBackup.lnk = C:\Program Files\ERUNT\AUTOBACK.EXE
O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINNT\web\related.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINNT\web\related.htm
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {56336BCB-3D8A-11D6-A00B-0050DA18DE71} - http://207.188.7.150/2705bee3a37903d51c23/netzip/RdxIE2.cab
O16 - DPF: {8AD9C840-044E-11D1-B3E9-00805F499D93} (Java Runtime Environment 1.4.1_01) -
O16 - DPF: {CAFEEFAC-0014-0001-0001-ABCDEFFEDCBA} (Java Runtime Environment 1.4.1_01) -
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2003
Messages
2,243
sure do can you boot to your Win2000 CD? If so then when it finally boots At the "Welcome to Setup" screen, press F10, or press R to repair, and then C to start the Recovery Console this will allow you to use the command line. From here do something like the following. Or if the file system is FAT32 you can use a Win98 bootdisk to do this. www.bootdisk.com

COPY /Y C:\WINNT\repair\RegBack\TheParticularHive C:\WINNT\system32\config\

This will replace the registry hive to the last time that hive was bacped up. Hopefully you didn't backup the registry at the time the problems started to happen.

Following is a list of the files that are the registry hives. I would suggest starting with the SYSTEM hive and then reboot and if the problem still persists do the SOFTWARE hive next. Note these files don't have a file extension on them

DEFAULT
SAM
SECURITY
SOFTWARE
SYSTEM

For the SYSTEM hive you could try the following before doing the copy method.

ren c:\WINNT\system32\config\SYSTEM SYSTEM.bak
ren c:\WINNT\system32\config\SYSTEM.alt SYSTEM

I would suggest to first BACKUP these hives from the C:\WINNT\system32\config\ to folder of your making or choice just don't back them up to the C:\WINNT\repair\RegBack\ folder.

You will probably need to reapply any services patches that you have previously installed.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top