1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help with Windows XP and Temp Folder.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mrbladedude, Dec 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mrbladedude

    mrbladedude Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Every time I turn my PC on and Log in I check my Temp Folder and it has all this crap in it. Besides just deleting it all like I do every day, would there happen to be an easier way? And why is this happening anyway?

    It also says I have 1 hidden File. I have not messed with the hidden file. Should I delete it or is it of some importance?

    Below are links to the screenshots it took.

    http://i959.photobucket.com/albums/ae73/rc3mil/TEMPFOLDER.jpg

    http://i959.photobucket.com/albums/ae73/rc3mil/TEMPFOLDER2.jpg

    http://i959.photobucket.com/albums/ae73/rc3mil/HIDDENFILE.jpg


    Issue number 2.

    I am trying to Install a trial version of Kaspersky Antivirus 2012 but it wont continue unless I remove my McAfee Antivirus from the PC. I am happy with McAfee and am only installing Kaspersky to run a scan on my PC one time to compare the 2 antivirus programs. I have disabled McAfee from both the Startup and Services tabs in the System Configuration Utility accessed via MSCONFIG .

    Kaspersky still wants to remove it...

    How can I temporarily disable McAfee or trick Kaspersky into thinking McAfee isnt installed on my PC?

    Thanks to all that answer.
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,754
    for issue one, I just use ATF and run it weekly. Whatever it doesn't delete doesn't need to be deleted.

    For option two, you can't have dueling AV apps; they will cancel each other out. Personally, I recommend Microsoft Security Essentials as it's free and pretty lightweight, but if you wish to pay for it, nobody is going to stop you. :)
     
  3. mrbladedude

    mrbladedude Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    I know you cant have 2 antivirus apps. That's why I want to temporarily disable McAfee and install Kaspersky to do 1 full scan then switch back to McAfee. Thanks for your response.
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,754
    check here for a list on how to disable various AV's.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1032103

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice