Help with WinME

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

darnold

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2002
Messages
459
I turn on the computer and do whatever... About 10 min. later it locks up on me and I cant do anything at all...

Please advise!!

Thanks...
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Could be almost anything ;)

I would start with the basics... go into safe mode and do a thorough scan disk on the whole computer. Also in safe mode do a complete defrag. Then I would reboot and scan with spybot/adaware and run your anti-virus program AFTER you update it. Then reboot again and see how it runs. If it's still acting up post back here and we will trace it down further.
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
A on-line virus scan would be in order from http://housecall.trendmicro.com

***

Check your available resources by right-clicking My Computer; clicking Properties; Click the Performance tab. Resources available are displayed as percent there at top. Check it when you get done running the System Configuration Utility mentioned below.

Click the Start button; Run; type 'msconfig', without the quotation marks, in the Run box and click OK; Then click the Startup tab; Uncheck anything you don't need running in the background. For reference on what's not needed running in the background in the System Configuration Utility, view this website first and print out the list:

http://www2.whidbey.net/djdenham/Running_items.htm

It's important that you print out the above mentioned list. The site provides a printer friendly link.

In the System Configuration Utility (SCU), you can uncheck programs you suspect one at a time and restart your computer. If something doesn't work right, you can always go back into the SCU and re-check it and restart your computer via the Start button. The changes are completely reversible by re-checking an item in SCU or by selecting Normal Startup under the General tab in the SCU and all the programs listed run when Windows starts as it was before you started.

***

Get, install, update and run free Ad-aware (and its HexDump add-on) from http://www.lavasoftusa.com/software/adaware/
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
Be sure you have the WinXP Internet Connection Firewall (ICF) enabled.

Standard ScanDisk Settings are these - Start ScanDisk; Check the Standard box; Check Automatically fix errors; click the Advanced button, the settings should be as follows - Display Summary - Always, Log File - Replace Log, Cross-Linked Files - Delete, Lost File Fragments - Free, Check Files For - check (Invalid File Names) should be checked.
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
Well you'd be glad to know you can not uncheck too much in SCU because Windows will use Explorer anyway.

Lights on computer come? Here the Hard Drive (HDD) power up? It could just be a bad HDD. Any error messages?

Do you have a Windows install CD? With the computer on slide the CD drive door out and pop in the Windows XP install CD and close the door; Power off the computer for 30 second then restart it and see if it boots up off the Windows install CD.

If you reinstall Windows over itself or are given a choice to repair a previous installation of Windows choose to repair. If the installation proceeds and runs OK it's likely not the HDD but Windows was corrupted.

Is you windows install CD WinXP?
 

darnold

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2002
Messages
459
First, Im running Win ME not Win XP...

OK, i got it to boot up into SAFE MODE now... I tried doing a SCAN DISK and it locked up on me again...
 

darnold

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2002
Messages
459
I dont have a Win ME install CD though... I do have a Win XP install CD...
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
If you got in Safe Mode use SR:

Use System Restore to roll your computer back to a date to before when your computer worked right. Before the error(s) started occurring.

To start System Restore, click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click System Restore. Or, in the Help and Support main screen, click Use System Restore under Fix a problem.
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
You're not trying Thorough Scan Disk are you? just do a Standard if at all. use SR first! then try a Scan Disk if you start normally to Safe or Normal mode.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2000
Messages
8,994
I think there is a patch needed,
before system restore will operate
in M.E.
 

darnold

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 21, 2002
Messages
459
I think I found the problem... I opened up the case... and I see that the CPU Fan Cooler isnt running... It could be over-heating and locking up on me...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top