1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HELP! Word2000 has Quit working ... possible virus??

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Gary R, Jan 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    Am using Word 2K (Sr-1)
    I was sending a E-mail with an attachment of a W2k .doc file using OE5.5, but when I tried to read the attachment to be sure I'd included the right one, W2K locked up & I had to use Ctrl-Alt-Delete, but when I did, the comp went to a Blue screen wanting me to wait for the program to finish or I could use ctrl-alt-delete
    HOWEVER, the keyboard was locked up and I had to reset the computer.
    In subsequent attempts to get W2K going I kept getting "Dangerously low on resources. Do you want to quit this program?" I'd go thru Explorer, Zonealarm, and a couple others, then when I got to last one the comp freezes on a green screen, & I have to rest.
    ONCE I got the following Blue Screen warning: "Fatal Exception OE at 0167:BFF9DFF'
    __
    Wordpad, & notepad work with W2K files as does Quickview but W2K will not work, it just locks the comp up.
    NOW, to the VIRUS...... I went to House call, and it reported the following:
    :
    Joke Geschenk in file C:/Windows/Gift.exe and says its non-cleanable.
    :
    From what I can find out all its supposed to do is open/close the cd door, BUT is it possible this could be the reason W2K wont work now, and if so, what do I do?
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    25 solutions listed here
    http://search.support.microsoft.com...s&CAT=Support&VRL=ENG&SA=TECH&Go.x=15&Go.y=30


    but look at this one first
    http://support.microsoft.com/directory/article.asp?ID=KB;EN-US;Q311741

    I also found this
    http://www.sportsonly.com/a/12790/bin/19.html

    the solution
    It appears that you may have a crosslinked file on your hard drive. My first suggestion is to uninstall Links, then run scandisk and defrag. After this, restart the computer and install Links. If the problem continues, please contact the Microsoft tech support line at 800-793-8324 within the US and Canada.
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi,

    I don't think your little joke virus is responsible for your Word problems.
    You can just delete C:/Windows/Gift.exe to get that one off your system.
    First go to Start/Run, andd type Msconfig. See if this Gift.exe can be unchecked on the 'Startup' tab.
    Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot.
    Now delete Gift.exe.

    As for the Word problem, you could start by trying to repair MS Office:

    Double-click Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel.

    Double-click the Office 2000 entry listed in the Add/Remove Programs dialog box.

    Click Repair Office.
    Click Repair errors in my Office installation, and then click Finish.

    Good luck,
     
  4. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    A friend sent me a .doc file formatted in Word95 i belive (Know he has older version of prog) & when W2K asked if I wanted to change it to w2k format i clicked 'yes'
    BUT, as I noted above, this problem didn't start until i tried to check the attachement with Word to make sure I was sending the right one.
    It was in a large font so I changed the font to a smaller size and from Arial to Courier New. He'd formatted the page to center the title of the page and had pages left-justified and with automatic numbering, so if i hit enter to space between paragraps, it's put in another line #.
    Word 2K is only part of Office I am using, and at this point I cant get into Word2K to make any changes mentioned in the windows help files on their site.
    Wonder if I may have to reload W2000 .... hopefully, If I have to reload it, I can copy the 'my documents folder' to a CD/RW. Have about 3 Mbs of .doc files I don't want to lose (Genealogy, & other things)
     
  5. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    This is getting wierd :eek:
    :
    Word 2000 will NOT start with the desktop shortcut OR the tab in the "Programs" Menu
    BUT .... if I start Microsoft Works (Version 6.0) then use the "Word" menu tab on Works' opening page, Word2000 is loading / working normally :confused:
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Well, try repairing it as I proposed, and see what happens.
    When you get the 'Repair errors in my Office installation' dialog, be sure to select the 'Restore my shortcuts' check box as well.

    Good luck,
     
  7. Gary R

    Gary R Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,440
    RE: Gift.exe .... Ran msconfig, & it's not in the startup file, so can I just go to Windows Explorer, find gift.exe then delete it that way with causing any problems? First time I've had any virus on the comp (Am using ZoneAlarm, but it didn't pick this one up)
    ---
    NOW to Word2000 ..... I have a habit of compacting the files in Outlook Express 5.5 once every week or so, and did so last nite.
    Wellllll ...... After i compacted the files, just for the heck of it I tried starting W2000 again, and it loaded and ran normally from the shortcut on the desktop, and the tab in Start > Programs and at this point at least, is continuing to load and run as it should :eek:
    Only thing I can think of is maybe there was a header corrupted somehow in the E-attachment I spoke of earlier when I tried to read it in W2000, and compacting cleared the bad header out.
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Glad it worked out.

    And yes, you can remove Gift.exe just like that, if Windows lets you.
    If the file should be reported 'in use', do it in Safe Mode.

    Good luck,
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63832

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice