1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by monsternano, Nov 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. monsternano

    monsternano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I also have net gear router from Comcast and every other laptop connects but my Toshiba with Windows Vista I have checked several settings and it shows the network is there I try to connect it says taking longer than usual and then unable to connect my other devices connect fine please help
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,909
    First Name:
    Terry
    I've started your own thread so that we may try to help you.

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. monsternano

    monsternano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Do I try those setting changes even if we recently were using a Verizon router prior to the net gear
     
  4. monsternano

    monsternano Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I have reset the settings I am still unable to connect and there is now an unknown network visible. Please help
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,909
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025601

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice