help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xMikex

How do i make the words on a page collapse as the page is resized...like when someone shrinks the page the words warp to fit the size of the window

how do you do that?

As long as you just type words into the HTML you'll be okay. By that I mean don't place it within anything that is defined by pixels. If you have tables on your page, then you'll need to have it based on % if you want word wrap.

That should be all there is to it!

xMikex

liammacg said:
As long as you just type words into the HTML you'll be okay. By that I mean don't place it within anything that is defined by pixels. If you have tables on your page, then you'll need to have it based on % if you want word wrap.

That should be all there is to it!
im still pretty new to all this website building and html so is there like a code or script that i can just put in ?

Here is a sample:

Code:
<p>
This is your text. If you put this into your webpage, then it will automatically
be "squished" because this text is not within a confined area.</p>
If you are using a WYSIWYG editor (Dreamweaver, Frontpage, etc...) then just type on the page and you'll be good. But, if you put the text into something that has a defined size (like a table, layer, etc.) then it will not resize like you want it to.

Basically, just put the text you want on the page! That's all there is to it! :)

Just another quick example. Put this into a textfile and save it as .html and then view it. Shrink the window to see what will happen.
Code:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<title>Page Title</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>

<body>
<p>This is my webpage. If you resize the window, you will see that this text will 
  shrink with the window.</p>